Butternut Squash Soup with Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was really interesting. Both me and my husband took our first taste and thought it was really good! After 3 or 4 bites, I was still really impressed how it turned out, I really liked the Sage leave addition. But after that, it just didn't taste as good and by the end of my small bowl, I felt like I was forcing myself to eat it. It made a TON and we had lots of leftovers that neither of us wanted to eat. I'm not sure what happened, I guess the squash ended up being too much for us. From a recipe point of view, I didn't change anything, but I did have to cook the squash longer than 10 minutes for it to be tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woods Cross, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Love this recipe! Especially on a cold fall/winter day. I save time by buying cut butternut squash at Costco. The cayenne adds a nice warmth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
My first review-- Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was amazing. Only thing I did different was roast the butternut squash in the oven with olive oil, salt and pepper @ 475 for 35 min. Next time I may add some sage to that step. I also used one big fuji apple. I made a similar recipe from food and wine mag which used popcorn as a garnish, which was a big hit! Update - I left some sage in the leftover soup, and the next day it was very sage-y! I had to cover it up with agave nectar. Even 2-3 sage leaves become very strong overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIGALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
It's wonderful - the butternut squash and granny smith apples go very well together. It was also pretty straightforward to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I really love this soup. I have made it twice now...the first time I followed the recipe completely and it was good. The second time I changed a couple of things; I added an extra onion, and a little less sugar, as I thought it was a little sweet. Also, I omitted the coriander, and the cayenne pepper...instead I used about 1/2 tsp. of ground cumin and a healthy pinch of salt, 32 oz swansons chix broth, and 1/4 cup of half and half. I served this soup up with some home made rolls, and my family loved it. There was enough soup to freeze some for a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickendinnerma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it actually turned out pretty good. I don't like butternut squash, but adding the apples and onions to it gave the soup such a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsiekrocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Use a blender instead of a food processor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Clarke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I have a large family so I doubled the recipe. Used organic chicken stock instead of Swanson's broth. I really enjoyed the flavor of this soup. I think the apples added a nice touch of sweetness and loved the red pepper for that little bit of kick also. I also really liked that this recipe didn't have cream in it since I have a milk intolerance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was tasty and perfect for a cold afternoon. It took about 20 mins longer for me to get the squash soft, but maybe my pieces were too big. I swapped out the sugar for a couple of splashes of apple juice. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States