Butternut Squash Soup with Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
WOW! This was so incredibly fantastic and creamy. The only change I had was instead of boiling the soup immediately after cooking the apples, onions, & squash in oil, I threw it in the crock pot overnight. SO DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was a GREAT recipe! I did make a few changes though...I added 4 chopped cloves of Garlic and just a few pinches of Nutmeg. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber_in_PDX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I don't care for Swanson broths, not much flavor and the salt and/or msg just dosn't get it for us. Used 'Imagine' chicken broth 1st time and only 1/8 tsp cayenne, used a squeeze of dark honey instead of sugar and added a bit of lemon juice at the end. 2nd time used 'Wolfgang Puck' chicken broth and used Jonagold apples instead of Granny Smith. WOW to both! Now I make it often and either way and just keep trying different spices and amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Fantastic! We had this at our Christmas dinner and everyone ate it, even the preschooler and toddler. My husband didn't care for the sage butter, but since that's added to each bowl to taste he left it out in later bowls. He also hates squash in general but liked this. We served it again last week when we had dinner with friends and it was a huge hit. It's now on regular rotation. The only changes we made were because the pantry was low: boullion & water instead of broth; McIntosh apples and therefore slightly reduced sugar; and since I didn't have sage leaves I melted a bunch of butter in a skillet, put in a tablespoon of rubbed dry sage, simmered for a minute, and then strained the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Wow! We served this recipe for company, never having made it before, and for someone we later found out, doesn't like squash soup. She really liked it and asked for the recipe. We also had extra and shared it with a nieghbour who absolutely raves about it and also asked for the recipe! Thank-you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. We're going to serve it again for New Year's Eve supper. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Made this recipe for my Christmas party and it was a big hit! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was amazing. Only thing I did different was roast the butternut squash in the oven with olive oil, salt and pepper @ 475 for 35 min. Next time I may add some sage to that step. I also used one big fuji apple. I made a similar recipe from food and wine mag which used popcorn as a garnish, which was a big hit! Update - I left some sage in the leftover soup, and the next day it was very sage-y! I had to cover it up with agave nectar. Even 2-3 sage leaves become very strong overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIGALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This soup is amazing!!! I sautee the sage leaves in butter until they are crisp, and cool them on paper towels...they are exquisite!!! It is delicious!!!! I myself do not like coriander, so I omitted it. I took it to a ladies luncheon and everyone wanted the recipe!! PLEASE try it!! It is fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Amazing!!! I loved this soup. I added one sweet potato and it was great! I also put the Onion, apple, butternut squash and sweet potato in the oven to roast a bit for a nice taste. I will be making this a lot this fall. :D Also, I cooked the sage in the soup and chopped it up with the soup blender instead of putting it on top of soup at the end. I think I added 4-5 leaves. And sprinkling toasted pumpkins seeds on top is a nice touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Absolutely perfect! I am kind of picky about my Butternut Squash soup - it always seems to be to bland and sweet or to spicy. This recipe is awesome though. And the sage butter/fried sage is pure genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States