Butternut Squash Soup with Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was really interesting. Both me and my husband took our first taste and thought it was really good! After 3 or 4 bites, I was still really impressed how it turned out, I really liked the Sage leave addition. But after that, it just didn't taste as good and by the end of my small bowl, I felt like I was forcing myself to eat it. It made a TON and we had lots of leftovers that neither of us wanted to eat. I'm not sure what happened, I guess the squash ended up being too much for us. From a recipe point of view, I didn't change anything, but I did have to cook the squash longer than 10 minutes for it to be tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woods Cross, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Love this recipe! Especially on a cold fall/winter day. I save time by buying cut butternut squash at Costco. The cayenne adds a nice warmth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
My first review-- Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was amazing. Only thing I did different was roast the butternut squash in the oven with olive oil, salt and pepper @ 475 for 35 min. Next time I may add some sage to that step. I also used one big fuji apple. I made a similar recipe from food and wine mag which used popcorn as a garnish, which was a big hit! Update - I left some sage in the leftover soup, and the next day it was very sage-y! I had to cover it up with agave nectar. Even 2-3 sage leaves become very strong overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIGALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
It's wonderful - the butternut squash and granny smith apples go very well together. It was also pretty straightforward to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I really love this soup. I have made it twice now...the first time I followed the recipe completely and it was good. The second time I changed a couple of things; I added an extra onion, and a little less sugar, as I thought it was a little sweet. Also, I omitted the coriander, and the cayenne pepper...instead I used about 1/2 tsp. of ground cumin and a healthy pinch of salt, 32 oz swansons chix broth, and 1/4 cup of half and half. I served this soup up with some home made rolls, and my family loved it. There was enough soup to freeze some for a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickendinnerma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it actually turned out pretty good. I don't like butternut squash, but adding the apples and onions to it gave the soup such a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsiekrocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Use a blender instead of a food processor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Clarke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I have a large family so I doubled the recipe. Used organic chicken stock instead of Swanson's broth. I really enjoyed the flavor of this soup. I think the apples added a nice touch of sweetness and loved the red pepper for that little bit of kick also. I also really liked that this recipe didn't have cream in it since I have a milk intolerance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was tasty and perfect for a cold afternoon. It took about 20 mins longer for me to get the squash soft, but maybe my pieces were too big. I swapped out the sugar for a couple of splashes of apple juice. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States