Butternut Squash Soup with Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
WOW! This was so incredibly fantastic and creamy. The only change I had was instead of boiling the soup immediately after cooking the apples, onions, & squash in oil, I threw it in the crock pot overnight. SO DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
A rich, creamy, excellent soup! I roasted the squash in the oven for 30 minutes or so (halved and seeded) before cubing it and adding to the other ingredients. I didn't have sage leaves or add any ground sage, but this was fabulous regardless. I had to have a second bowl! I think the inclusion of the apples really helps put this at another level. This is a recipe I'd gladly make for guests and large gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
It looks so good! I like the idea of sage in the soup. I'll write back if I get around to making it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Fantastic! We had this at our Christmas dinner and everyone ate it, even the preschooler and toddler. My husband didn't care for the sage butter, but since that's added to each bowl to taste he left it out in later bowls. He also hates squash in general but liked this. We served it again last week when we had dinner with friends and it was a huge hit. It's now on regular rotation. The only changes we made were because the pantry was low: boullion & water instead of broth; McIntosh apples and therefore slightly reduced sugar; and since I didn't have sage leaves I melted a bunch of butter in a skillet, put in a tablespoon of rubbed dry sage, simmered for a minute, and then strained the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is a wonderful "special" soup for family and friends during the holidays. Unfortuantly not everyone likes Butternut Squash, but for those willing to give it a try, are "pleasantly surprised". This is one of my favorite recipies and I followed it exactly as written. You can't go wrong!! Thanks Campbells Kitchen for sharing this terrific soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was a GREAT recipe! I did make a few changes though...I added 4 chopped cloves of Garlic and just a few pinches of Nutmeg. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber_in_PDX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This soup is amazing!!! I sautee the sage leaves in butter until they are crisp, and cool them on paper towels...they are exquisite!!! It is delicious!!!! I myself do not like coriander, so I omitted it. I took it to a ladies luncheon and everyone wanted the recipe!! PLEASE try it!! It is fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Wow! We served this recipe for company, never having made it before, and for someone we later found out, doesn't like squash soup. She really liked it and asked for the recipe. We also had extra and shared it with a nieghbour who absolutely raves about it and also asked for the recipe! Thank-you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. We're going to serve it again for New Year's Eve supper. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Fantastic this is a keeper! And the sage leaves on top were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Absolutely perfect! I am kind of picky about my Butternut Squash soup - it always seems to be to bland and sweet or to spicy. This recipe is awesome though. And the sage butter/fried sage is pure genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States