Butternut Squash Soup with Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
A bit labor intensive to make with cutting up the squash and apple. The soup has a bit of a bite - probably from the red pepper - but it's still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very good simple to make squash soup, the apples are a great sweetener for this seasonal dish. I will be using the sage-infused butter on a lot of other items, already drizzled pork roast slices with it and amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
A rich, creamy, excellent soup! I roasted the squash in the oven for 30 minutes or so (halved and seeded) before cubing it and adding to the other ingredients. I didn't have sage leaves or add any ground sage, but this was fabulous regardless. I had to have a second bowl! I think the inclusion of the apples really helps put this at another level. This is a recipe I'd gladly make for guests and large gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I made the recipe as stated. At the end I added a 1/2 tsp of ginger and about a 1/2 tsp of salt. I felt that it was lacking in flavor. After adding some seasoning I would give it 4 stars. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I doubled the recipe and it just didn't turn out. At a family dinner for 11, nobody liked it. The cayenne & coriander was overpowering and the whole thing was too tart. I won't be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Tasty, easy and a wonderful soup to welcome fall as we did tonight. My husband and I enjoyed it as it but put some extra brown sugar in our daughters bowls and so the 3 year old ate it happily - 16 month didn't come around though - next year I bet.) The sage leaves and butter were a lovely flavoring and garish. I recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachgirl
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
WOW! This was so incredibly fantastic and creamy. The only change I had was instead of boiling the soup immediately after cooking the apples, onions, & squash in oil, I threw it in the crock pot overnight. SO DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
The base soup was decent for a "healthy" dish. The cayenne was a "must". I am currently on a no grain, no dairy, no added sugar, 30-day "whole food" detox program, so I left out the sugar and butter. Husband and I thought it was good enough, but kids didn't like it at all. Didn't have the sage for the finish, so not sure if that "makes the dish" or not. Enjoyed for one-time, but probably won't make again until after the kids grow up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Absolutely perfect! I am kind of picky about my Butternut Squash soup - it always seems to be to bland and sweet or to spicy. This recipe is awesome though. And the sage butter/fried sage is pure genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Fantastic this is a keeper! And the sage leaves on top were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States