Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I liked this soup! I think the potatoes make all the difference. I added garlic and plenty of salt. I agree that celery doesn't puree well but it's not that hard to remove the "strings" from a stalk--I wouldn't omit it. I think it's important to use good stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cornville, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This soup was so tasty and hearty! It was tough to cut up that squash but it may be because I have lousy knives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol28
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I've made it once. As others, I baked the squash ....very easy. I also added- Nutmeg & cinnamon, but didn't stop there cause it still didn't have the zing I wanted so I added 1/2-3/4 tsp red pepper and 3-4 pinches of saffron. Loved it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Very yummy! My first try at this soup and it was a success. I added some cinnamon, left out the celery (can't stand it!), and roasted the squash in the oven first - split, rubbed with olive oil and sea salt - for an hour first. I also added sour cream at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Halbig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Subbed 1 potatoe for a sweet potato. Very good consistency. Followed recipe exact otherwise. Needs a bit more spice. Next time add some curry, nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I added garlic, more onions, caramelize the onions, less carrot, I used a few shakes of Pensey's Florida Blend of tellicherry Indian black peppercorns cracked with hot chili peppers and their Tuscan Sunset herb blend but now I wish I tried curry powder and a little cardamon on 1/2 the batch. Not allowed to have any dairy right now so I cheated with the small amount of butter (in a serving) and held on to be able to avoid my two favorites next to my wife...Ms. Cream Cheese or Ms. Sour Cream. I'm not sure how that ended last time but my pillow and pajamas were a mess. We loved this soup on the Red Lunar eclipse and just in time for Sucote, the Fall harvest festival. Be imaginative with your spices. This recipe is a great place to play with spices or let your friends play individually at the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy the Kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Tripoli, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
its a good one www.onlinetuitioncommunity.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faisal farooq

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Excellent soup if you add your favorite spices. I use 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 1 tblsp. minced garlic and a pinch of cayenne. That tiny bit of cayenne heat adds a special touch. I also happen to add 1/3 c. half and half to increase the creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Easy, delicious, healthy and cheap to make. What more do you want? Just make sure to add quite a bit of broth as it can be very thick. Eyeball it when nearly done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
used sweet potato added nutmeg and cinnamon veg broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States