Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Outstanding basic recipe, with full credit to Maplebird for the original inspiration! Like many others, I took some liberties according to my (and my wife's) taste - and tendency to want to change things 'just cause.' I vertically halved a fairly large squash and microwaved it (high) about 15 min in a half-inch of water - it was easy to scoop out the flesh with a grapefruit spoon. I cubed one Idaho potato and one sweet potato, and parboiled them briefly before adding them to the skillet (olive oil) with the sautéing onion - to which I had added two cloves minced garlic. I omitted the carrot due simply to taste, and added a minced fresh jalapeño (seeded) pepper to the onion/garlic/potatoes mixture. I transferred the sautéed mix and squash to a soup pot, along with about four cups of hot vegetable broth (I'm vegetarian). Brought to a boil with salt, some white pepper, and a shake of red pepper flakes. (Add water/broth as needed to desired consistency.) After about 45 minutes on medium low heat, uncovered, I added half a cup of half-and-half, reduced heat to very low for five minutes, and did not puree. And the required dollop of SC - sour cream - in the bowl...Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lifes_1_journey
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Made this today and definitely felt that it was bland. I added some garlic powder (would sautée one fresh clove next time), paprika, curry and cayenne pepper. To those who are considering a fellow reviewed suggestion to use a hand mixer: don't do it! I thought it was a genius idea but even with little soup in a large pot, soup splattered all over me and my stove!! The lid only contained a bit of the mess. I'll definitely use the blender next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I made this last night for dinner. I thought it was a little bland so I added 1/2 tsp garlic, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp allspice and 3/4 cup brown sugar. Even though I added 1/4 brown sugar each time I thought it was too sweet. I will reduce this next time but definitely thought 1/2 cup was not enough. I also added about 1/3 cup 35% M.F. thick cream. It was delicious and I will definitely will make this again. I gave it 5 stars anyway because it's a great starter base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I gave this 5 stars for both the basic recipe and the reviewers suggestions. I used all the ingredients EXCEPT the potatoes and butter (don't need the starch and fat; just the flavor). I used a slow cooker to soften the squash (LOW setting for 5 hours, then removed and cooled before removing seeds). I turned up the slow cooker to HIGH and added onion, carrot, celery, low sodium chicken stock, 1 clove of garlic and 1/8 tsp. of curry (skipped the sauté step altogether), and boiled the stock for 3 hours. I returned the squash to the slow cooker and pureed the entire mixture for about 2 minutes. Tasted great despite the absence of potato and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Finding a recipe without gluten and dairy is great. This is the first time I have cooked with butternut squash, and I really enjoyed the taste of this recipe. Others say it is bland, but it suits me perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Great recipe! I added a little bit more broth and used olive oil instead of butter. Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iman Eltawely

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was simple and delicious! It's a nice basic recipe that can be easily personalized. I added a teaspoon of allspice, three cloves of garlic, and topped it with parmasean. I might try a dash of curry next time like one person suggested. I omitted nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jada Hansen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This soup was so delicious!! The only changes I made were that I used a humongous butternut squash (instead of medium) and chicken broth, instead of stock since that's what I had on hand. It was so creamy and hearty. My husband, 4 year old, and I just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Ehrenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This soup was very good and easy to make, I had left over squash from the center piece from our Thanksgiving Dinner and used it to make the soup. Made some corn bread to go with it and it was a big hit. Thanks for posting your recipe...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Todd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States