Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This soup was so delicious!!! I added some more veggies in because I had some on hand that I wanted to utilize...turnips, carrots, etc. I also stirred in some sour cream right before serving. It came out great :) Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is a great base recipe that you could mold to fit your desires. I went ahead and cubed the squash raw, and will probably end up baking it if I have time on the next go around. I used veggie broth instead of chicken. I wasn't able to add celery so I just doubled the carrot and also added about 2 tsp of ground sage. I'm sure you could add any herb/spice of your choice and it would be yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Bolling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
A household favorite in the fall/winter. I've made it at least twice a year for the last 4 years and it always gets rave reviews with friends and family. I've made it as written and it's fabulous and I've experimented with a pinch of this and a pinch of that and it was still fabulous and fun. I love that his recipe doesn't require any cream (as most others do) but yet it's still extremely creamy in texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
It was a little bland, I added some of the recommended cinnamon and nutmeg, but the recommended bacon bits are what REALLY made the soup enjoyable. It was sort of lifeless without the meat chunks. It was a hernia effort to make, but I was proud of it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This soup was good. I took the advise to add garlic and curry. I fried the veggies and then pressure cooked them for about 10-15 mins. to save time. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Love this soup. It it creamy without adding milk products - always a plus for me. I make a triple batch and froze some. After reheating it is just a delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Fabulous as it is, but I added some yellow hot pepper to the veggies, then some white pepper, cayenne and dried dill at the end. Served it with dollops of sour cream on top to mix in. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I loved this soup. I substituted a granny smith apple in place of the celery. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Great recipe, simple, tasty, relatively quick, good ingredients and very inexpensive. Recently had an opportunity to have 16 varying tastes try this soup..... this was the first one gone...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Delicious simple recipe for a newbie to butternut squash soup! I added an 1/8 tsp cayenne, 1/8 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 tsp cinnamon based on other reviews and it added the perfect amount of spice w/o overpowering the delicious squash. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States