Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This soup makes a great base for being creative! I added curry, garlic, an apple, replaced the regular potato for 1 sweet. I had baked the squash in the oven prior, and after pureeing all of the soup together I added an extra bit of squash in it's natural form - I think it added a more interesting texture to the soup. I've been eating it with cashew bits mixed in, yummmm !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
One of the things I want to beg of you all is to roast your squash!!!!! It not only smells much better in the house, but it imparts a totally different, wonderful toasty flavor you cannot get with frying, boiling or microwaving. If time is an issue, bake it the night before with your dinner and it will be all ready for you the next day. Keeping the flavors in mind I actually roasted ALL my vegetables instead of cooking them in the broth. Such rich flavors! Changes I made to the recipe were minimal, but based on the ideas of others. Used 1 sweet potato instead of 2 regular. I also roasted a red pepper and 2 cloves of garlic. Used celery salt in place of regular salt because I didn't have celery. Added a dash of nutmeg, cinnamon and some sage powder. Blended but left it chunky. I have to say I still found this a bit bland, though my Dad, who is a squash lover thought it was great and finished it the next night. Lastly, I would recommend making this soup either the day before or at least earlier in the day as the flavors come out over time! This was much better day two. And a resounding yes to the sour cream and garlic croutons!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
True, I didn't follow the ingredients list to the "t". However, having followed suggestions from other reviewers, this yielded a VERY delicious soup that will definitely be worth remaking. This is what I changed. I omitted the potatoes and celery. When cooking the vegetables (squash, carrots, and onion) in butter, I added a tablespoon of minced garlic. Once the vegetables had 5 or so minutes on the heat, I added 4 cups of chicken broth, 1 tsp cinnamon, a dash nutmeg, a pinch of curry (just to bring out the complimentary spices, there is no real hint of curry in the final product), 1/4 cup of spiced rum (I used Captain Morgan's Tattoo), and 1/2 cup of half and half. Everything else I followed according to the recipe. I had a bowl with a dollop of sour cream, and then one without. The difference is negligible. I don't know what the original would taste like, but these changes made this soup absolutely fantastic. My husband just finished licking his second bowl clean. UPDATE:: So this is the second time I've made this soup, and here are the following changes I made. Split a butternut squash in half, put em in a bowl over about half an inch of water, and microwaved for 15 mins to soften. Into the stockpot, I threw in a sweet potato with the carrot, onion, and squash. Added 3 cloves of garlic, the same spices I used last time, except for the rum, and half and half. Delicious, and I think even better than last time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Very easy and tasty. I have a stick blender, so the mess was minimal since the blending can be done in the pot. The only thing I did differently was to use chicken broth instead of stock because that is what I had on hand. I will do this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This soup was fantastic. I used a large sweet potato instead of 2 medium regular potatoes. I also added garlic, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cayenne pepper. My husband loved this soup and this is normally something he would not care for. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This recipe is easy and very delicious! - Joan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written and it was delicious! Made it again the next day and substituted sweet potatoes for the potatoes and it was just as good. Next time I'll leave some of the veggies chopped for texture. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
If I could rate this a 6-star, I would. This soup was a huge hit with my family. I didnt modify a thing, and it was perfect. Amazing soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I even substituted cauliflower for the potato for a more "Paleo" version. It was great! So healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I used a sweet potato instead of white and it was incredible! I can't wait to try suggested variations of this SO EASY to make soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,029) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States