Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Easy indeed, but the taste is too blend if you follow the recipe. I added a pinch of nutmeg, a small sprig of thyme. and 1/2 cup half and half cream. Remove the sprig before serving and pour drops of cream on top of each bowl, for a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I made this recipe a few years ago, however it was the base for a bisque where I added lobster. You need to buy a small whole lobster and sauté it, remove the meat and make a stock with the shells and use that along with the chicken stock. Makes for a great Thanksgiving accompaniment. I actually got the recipe from a local restaurant at one of their cooking demonstrations, a lot of work, but worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I've yet to try this recipe, but am about to use a butternut squash, grown in our garden. Last time I made pumpkin soup, the recipe called for the addition of garlic, omitted potato, but added a spoonful of maple syrup. The result was amazingly good. Can't find that recipe in time for lunch today, but am going to try to replicate it from memory. Seriously, do try adding the maple syrup instead of the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I used 1/2 butter 1/2 olive oil. I shortened prep time by just kind of chunking veggies then using the blender on pulse to leave it "un-perfect" or small chunks in a nicely creamed soup. I didn't use potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I made it strictly according to the directions and it turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
A great soup, the only thing I added was Sage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I have made butternut squash soup but I use a bag of grated carrots and one chopped onion and 4 to 5 cups of squash cubed. No potato. When done add 1 cup of cream. Still low in calories. 40 calories per cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
It's the best Butternut Squash Soup ever!!! Love it and perfect for this time of the year...(Fall).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ani
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
As others said it was a little plain with regular potatoes. I exchanged sweet potatoes for regular and omitted the celery. Added nutmeg and cayenne. Sour cream on top. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Heverly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Instead of butter, I cook bacon and use the bacon grease to cook the vegetables; I add sweet potatoes. I also add spices (salt, pepper, garlic, nutmeg, etc) and 1/2 cup of heavy cream. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Augienello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States