Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
This is a delicious, creamy and low fat soup. The only change I made is adding about a tablespoon of chopped ginger, because we love it. I had no problems with stringy celery, just needs to be chopped small and simmered until all veggies are soft. I used red potatoes and didn't peel them, and they also pureed perfectly. Browning the veggies until they are golden gives this soup the great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I had no problem making this recipe as is. I used a handheld blender to puree into a nice creamy soup. Not sure why others had issues with stringy celery strands? Perhaps you didn't boil the ingredients long enough. Find it too thick? Add more stock or partially cover with lid as you simmer so liquid doesn't evaporate as quickly. Tastes fresh and wholesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
1. Leave out the regular potatoes, we all know they can be bland. This soup doesn't need a starchy filler. If you do use one, do what the others say and use a sweet potato. 2. Leave out the celery, it's gonna be stringy and a bit funky. 3. Use or get a hand blender. They're not terribly pricey and will make your life so much easier! 4. Reserve 1/4 of the chunky chopped squash and blend the rest. Then add the chunks, otherwise it will be like a bowl of baby food. 5. Add some other spices in here, a dash of nutmeg and even a TINY bit of cinnamon or some curry seasoning wouldn't hurt. Be careful with the curry, there's a fine line between a beautiful soup with an addition you can't put your finger on, and curry squash soup. 5. Ok, here's the kicker - when you've chopped up the stuff and put it in the pot, add half a peeled and hard diced apple. Mmmmmmm The key to this soup is breaking up the texture of the soup, so leaving part of it chunky shouldn't be under rated. Really good with a hearty salad and a fireplace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tea Berries
Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
The best soup!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I really enjoyed this soup! Next time I think I will be adding more spices (curry etc,) but overall it was excellent. Another tip for peeling butternut squash: use a cheese grater! - some shapes might work better than others, but I have a convex shaped cheese grater and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I love the simplicity of this recipe. I have made many variations of butternut squash soup without a recipe. I left out the celery but added a 1/2 tsp of celery powder for flavour. I also enjoy the added taste of freshly grated nutmeg and a clove of garlic. If you prefer a little sweeter, try adding maple syrup and a pinch of cinnamon as well. Such wonderful versatility....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
It is a nice healthy recipe and some tips of the other reviews would help, like the garlic and curry powder , but when you tweak it with bacon, white wine or some other calorie adding suggestions it doesn't make sense , then it becomes a whole other recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodhaven, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I made this with an extra tablespoon of butter and no potatoes and it is delish. This is a very fresh veggie version but if you want some punch add some fresh ground ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This is one of the best butternut soups I've made. I tweaked it a little by adding a clove of garlic, minced and a pinch of red pepper chili flakes. Just a pinch though, because they give it a bit of zing. My husband loves soups with meat in them so I fried a couple strips of bacon till they were crispy and then cut them into small pieces and just added the bacon to the individual bowls of soup. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Acaster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States