Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Wonderful! I've made this twice now, making a lot of the changes suggested in the other reviews. Both times, I baked the squash first, just putting the whole thing in the oven at 375 for about an hour. The skin just peels itself off! Very easy. I also left out the celery both times. The first time, I replaced the potatoes with sweet potatoes and added some garlic and a pinch of curry powder. It was absolutely delicious and very hearty served with a big dollop of sour cream (the sour cream is a MUST). The second time, I made it just with butternut squash (no carrots, no potatoes) and it was even better. I added some cayenne powder for heat and a little nutmeg. I mixed the sour cream right into the soup this time - I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1939 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Delicious and easy to prepare. Others have mentioned a long prep time. This is simplified by NOT dicing the raw butternut squash. The easiest way to prepare butternut squash is to pierce it with a fork and bake it, whole, at 400F for one hour. Let cool, then halve lengthwise and remove the seeds. The flesh scoops out easily with a spoon. No cutting or dicing required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1679 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This recipe is very, very bland.. however it is salvagable. Here's what you do: 1- use only one potato, if you use two it takes away from the squash. 2- add 1/2 tsp cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. 3- add 1 T minced garlic. 4- Add 1/4 cup captain morgan's spiced rum. 5- add 1/2 c half-half. I personally found the recipe tasted better with a little bit of parmesan cheese and some italian seasonings. Serve with a dollop of sour cream and some crumbled bacon. I strongly recommend making these changes or others, otherwise this recipe is WAY too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1572 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Fantastic. We love it with the addition of a clove of garlic and a pinch of curry powder (which doesn't make it taste like curry, it just brings out the other flavors -- I stole this tip from a 5 star restaurant). The celery adds wonderful flavor; I wouldn't omit that as others suggest. I use a hand blender (the kind that looks like a wand) to blend it right in the pot so there's no messy transfer or blender to clean. If you purée soups often the hand blender is very useful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
520 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I had never eaten butternut squash so I did not know what to expect. I thought I had wasted all those ingredients, it was that tasteless. So I added spices red pepper flakes and some steamed broccoli......Still found it lacking. Then I added some sour cream. OMG, that was the secret. Really good. So I gave it 4 stars because it was, after all, a very good base. I plan to freeze some and see how that does. (7/18/07) After freezing this soup I decided that, although it was better fresh, it was still one of the recipes I will add to my list of foods I can freeze.(10/04/07) Don't bother to bake the squash. Cut it in half, remove seeds and pulp, place it in a dish, cut side down, with 1/2 inch of water and microwave for 12 to 15 minutes. Works very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Celina, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This soup was one of the best soups I ever made. So simple, low fat and tastes incredible! I wouldn't use the celery again, because it didn't puree properly and was somewhat stringly, but other than that, this recipe is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This is a delicious and super EASY soup! I chopped all the vegetables and tosed them into the low fat chicken stock (thus avoided the extras calories by not browning them first!) and when the vegetables were fork tender I pureed the vegetables! Served with a dollop of low fat sour cream and slivers of red pepper and viola! This recipe is the most asked for one this past year 2005!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Excellent! I recommend blending only half of it and leaving the other half chunky to give it some texture. Definitely perfect for a fall dinner on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Great recipe! I didn't brown the vegetables - I didn't use butter at all and didn't miss it. I did not use celery and used one regular potato and one sweet potato. I think next time I'll just use the sweet potatoes - would add extra flavor. I added a bit of red pepper for some spice. I put a drop of low fat sour cream on each serving - delicious! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Very yummy and I will be making this again and again! I always scour the ratings before trying a recipe. I always end up finding some very useful tips that perfect the outcome of a recipe. The following advice from other reviews were very helpful: 1. Use 1 potato, omit the potato all together, or add sweet potato instead. 2. For easy dicing, roast the butternut squash in a 400 degree oven for one hour, turning it every 15 minutes. 2. For a more flavorful soup, Add 1-2 cloves of fresh minced garlic, a 1/2 tsp of curry, a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg. 3. Add another 1/2 cup of broth for a thinner consistency after you puree it (but, you be the judge of that). 4. Pureeing it gives it a texture similar to baby food, so you may want to leave some chunks in the soup. Lastly, If you love squash, you HAVE to try this soup. My husband was looking for the leftovers the next day and called me a "dirty dog" for sending them home with my son. I regret doing that as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,035) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States