Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I gave this 4 stars because it's a good and easy base for a squash soup. I managed to mess it the instructions and added Miso Ginger Broth from Trader Joe's instead of the chicken broth and it was awesome! I also added a nutmeg and all spice to give it a little kick. I definitely plan on following some of the other suggestions made here by other posters. But my recommendation if you're looking for non-chicken broth is the one I mentioned above. It actually worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Amazing soup, I baked my squash in the oven first then scooped out to make the soup. Adding the squash after browning the other ingred. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Took users suggestions and roasted squash and spooned out. It was very easy and delish! Didnt think it needed the sour cream. Just added fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rainy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
The soup was okay. I don't like squash that much, so that's why. I added lots of pumpkin pie spice and nutmeg which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I LOVED it! But found that peeling the squash time-consuming.. I've never done it before so must be an easier way. I didn't blend the whole amount, left a few junks of vegetables to chew on. having something to chew always makes you feel more full at the end of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I made this for my hubby last night, he loved it , however I did tweak it a bit after reading the reviews I added cinnamon, nutmeg, brown sugar, cream cheese and apple cider it was fantastic ty for the recipe will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
ok, i followed most everyone's advice about adding some additional spices and it payed off! i didn't have curry powder so i used paprika and also cumin, garlic powder (plus garlic glove in the beginning), pepper flakes and salt & pepper. SO YUMMY!! AND i also followed the advice to precook the squash before cutting up - i think that helped a lot. in fact, it was nice and soft when i added it to the mix so when it was time to puree i only had to use the non-electric hand held thingy. the squash mashed up nicely with big chunks of the other stuff. i served with sourdough toast and i used greek yogurt instead of sour cream in 1 bowl, but i could take it or leave it. i will probably use pre-cut squash next time, but my only real regret is not making more! thanks for the input everyone! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
The first time I made this I stuck to the recipe. This time I made some changes. Instead of butter, I used olive oil to lightly brown the vegetables. I also added some red pepper flakes to add a bit of spice and a little curry powder to add a little depth of flavor. At the end, instead of adding more stock, I added a little bit (like 2 T.) of half-and-half for richness. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly and it was easy to make and sooo good! I added in some curry seasoning and left out the celery. It is creamy and has great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This soup was very easy and tasty. I did change a few things. I added 2 cloves of garlic, 1/2 tsp each cinnamon and nutmeg, and 1/2 cup light sour cream. I omitted the celery as advised in other people's reviews. My boyfried loved it and made sure i saved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States