Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I modified this a bit from the original recipe based on the other reviews. I left out the butter and celery. Stop and Shop had cut butternut squash on sale, so I used a 20oz pack of that. Used 1 potato, roasted the squash, potato and carrots in a little olive oil for 20 minutes. Sauteed the onion and garlic in the pan, used vegetable broth, and all the roasted items. I added cumin, cinnamon, dash of celery salt, black pepper and red pepper flakes. To make it really creamy I added a quarter of an avocado. I put a little too much cinnamon, next time I will just do a quick shake. Blended it an it's rich, creamy and the hint of heat is perfect. Thanks for a great base recipe and all the suggestions. I will be making this quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Years later, and this recipe is still making its way into good cooks' notebooks and card files! I followed this recipe very closely, with only a change in the chicken stock. I essentially concentrated that flavor by taking 16 oz water and using about 1.5 tablespoons (T.) natural chicken stock/bouillon. This added salt, so I didn't add that at the end. I'd seen other reviewers mention the recipe was bland, so I added a teeny dash of paprika, cumin, turmeric and garlic powder...very, very little. It blended down to the consistency of puree or baby food, which we really like (real 'stick-to-your-ribs soup'), adding a little water after blending to make it the thickness we like. The soup had a ton of flavor and I doubt I even needed those extra spices. Definitely a keeper...will make this again...and again...and again...!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TartanSongbird007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This is a very flavorful soup. I did add a bit of nutmeg and just a pinch of curry powder per other reviewers suggestions. I didn't add any sour cream or anything, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
So easy and family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juana07

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Yes I make this recipe every year since I bought your soup recipe mag.lob this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Very simple and delicious!!! I've had triple this recipe, as my family cannot get enough...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
We were blessed with an abundance of butternut and acorn squash this year. I was so excited to try this recipe. My husband and I both loved the flavor. We added some minced garlic and some curry. It was thick and wonderful! We will eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I have made it quite a few times now, especially at this time of the year. I add a teaspoon of curry, bake the squash beforehand, and usually forgo the celery. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
We have done this recipe several times. This last round I put in a sweet potato and parsnip, as well as part of a green apple (which I had seen listed in other recipes) and it is DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,024) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States