Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I roasted the squash first so it would be easy to peel. Other than that, I followed all other directions and did not change or omit any of the ingredients. Very flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this today. The first time I make a recipe I try and follow it exactly before I make changes so my review is based on the original. However, this time, I made a few (very few) changes but I don't think it made that major a difference so I will rate away. I began by piercing the squash and microwaving it for 10 minutes. Easy-peasy pealing. I did not use celery as I do not like celery in things and I did not use the regular potatoes. I used a sweet potato as my squash was kind of small and I thought this would help. I did the rest the same, but added about a tablespoon of freshly ground ginger and a dash of cayenne pepper. I served it with a dollop of sour cream. The soup was amazingly good. Oh, I used my stick blender to puree. I don't think the changes I made took that much away from the original recipe. It was excellent. Thank you for sharing. I will not buy Trader Joe's in a box any longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Morones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is the second winter and third time I've made this soup; I think it's awesome! I actually like the recipe as listed, but I do change up the directions just a tad. I cook down the onions and celery first to bring out more flavor, I add the salt and pepper when I add the stock (I also add minced garlic), and I use vegetable broth instead of chicken because of family vegetarians. Tip: Before you blend or puree your vegetables, remove a cup of the stock from the pot. That way when it is all pureed you can add in the some seasoned stock (not the bland box stock) if u want to change the consistency. Great recipe! Thank you, Maplebird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
delicious! i made a few changes. i baked the squash first. i omitted the potato and the celery. i added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. i used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. yum! i will definitely make this again. EASY to prepare and hearty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as printed.....It was wonderful....I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ediena Hawkes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deirdre White Jones
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Soup tasted delicious, but took forever to peel and cut the whole butternut squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This soup was very good. I cooked two minced garlic cloves with the onion, celery, etc. I added a pinch of dill weed and some hot pepper flakes to give it a kick. I only had two carrot sticks in the fridge, but it was fine with just that. I bought pre-peeled, pre-cut butternut squash, which made it easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Ahhhhh amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Make this every fall for the past 3 yrs. I add nutmeg to it. The potatoe provides a good balance to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This recipe is sooo good! I use sweet potato instead of regular potato. I don't think it needs sour cream. Just some garlic and I have tried with some curry too which is nice, but not necessary. I also bake the squash first which makes it way less prep. I don't dice anything, just cut in chunks and simmer for an hour. It should be soft enough when blended. Super quick, healthy and easy. Hubby and little guy absolutely loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States