Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
delicious! i made a few changes. i baked the squash first. i omitted the potato and the celery. i added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. i used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. yum! i will definitely make this again. EASY to prepare and hearty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as printed.....It was wonderful....I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ediena Hawkes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deirdre White Jones
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Soup tasted delicious, but took forever to peel and cut the whole butternut squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This soup was very good. I cooked two minced garlic cloves with the onion, celery, etc. I added a pinch of dill weed and some hot pepper flakes to give it a kick. I only had two carrot sticks in the fridge, but it was fine with just that. I bought pre-peeled, pre-cut butternut squash, which made it easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Ahhhhh amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Make this every fall for the past 3 yrs. I add nutmeg to it. The potatoe provides a good balance to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This recipe is sooo good! I use sweet potato instead of regular potato. I don't think it needs sour cream. Just some garlic and I have tried with some curry too which is nice, but not necessary. I also bake the squash first which makes it way less prep. I don't dice anything, just cut in chunks and simmer for an hour. It should be soft enough when blended. Super quick, healthy and easy. Hubby and little guy absolutely loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was the first time I've ever made butternut squash soup, and I loved it!! The entire family ate it including my 2 toddlers who hate soup in general. I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I happen to agree that if you follow this exact recipe it can be bland. I added some sage and some nutmeg though not too much.... Just to give it a little of that holiday flavor. I also used my handheld blender and mixed it up right in the pot. Came out awesome and I froze most of it since I am hosting thanksgiving. One less thing to think about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States