Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I thought this recipe was great. It was exactly what I thought Butternet Squash soup should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Pairs nice with balsamic glaze! If you have a powerful blender (I use a Kitchenaid) there's no need to peel the veges (if you buy organic). The skins have the highest concentration of nutrients and a powerful blender will really pulverize them - you won't even know they were ever on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This was super easy to make! It was smooth and flavourful! I didn't have any marjoram so I used thyme instead and I substituted cayenne pepper for chili flakes. It made it a bit spicy, but we still enjoyed it. Next time I will stick to using cayenne pepper. I will definitely make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Can be dairy free, and easily vegetarian this is a great soup for anyone. I like to add walnuts and/or a spicy sausage. You can also add cream if you desire the more traditional butternut squash soup. Cutting up the squash is worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Took the advice of other reviews and roasted the butternut squash and sweet potato first. Also wrapped an onion 2 carrots and a stalk of celery in tin foil with a little garlic infused olive oil and roasted it beside them halfway through cooking time and added everything together to the stock. The rest was just as the recipe stated with a liberal dash of cinnamon to spice it up. Delish !!! Definitely a keeper and with homemade crusty bread as a side a nutritious late night snack for partying teenagers .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by falkirkscottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
this was excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Easy and healthy. I used only the squash, no potato or carrot. Sautéed a couple cloves garlic with the onion and celery. Baked the squash and added with the broth. Added a pinch of curry powder and a tiny pinch of nutmeg. Pureed with stick blender. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cross Plains, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is the best butternut squash soup I've made! I doubled the recipe, and followed it exactly. Then I added a big sweet potato, 3/4 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp sweet curry powder, and 1/2 tsp. chipotle ground red pepper. I pureed it with my immersion blender. I plan to serve it with hot beef sausage (smoked sausage with jalapeno and red peppers) on the side because my husband won't eat the soup if I add the sausage to it. I tried it with a bit of shredded parm on it, and it tasted fine, but I don't think the parm added anything to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Truthfully, I had never cooked with butter nut squash before, so I wasn't ever sure we would like it. I didn't have any celery, but was also roasting fresh asparagus, so I just threw those stems in instead. I use my immersion blender to purée it all & it was really pretty good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Per husband-- "Tasty!" Toddler liked it, too. Very easy. I started the broth in the soup pot and just added the veggies as I cut them, so it only had to boil about 10 minutes before it was ready to puree. Saved lots of time and still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States