Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This was great. My husband especially liked it. It was so easy to make, and so delicious and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esha Bell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Awesome recipe! Great winter soup. I added a few of tsp of minced garlic during the sauteeing process and bay leaf during cooking time. Makes for healthy, hearty and easy lunch/dinner prep for the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I made a few changes and additions and this was a great soup. I added half an apple, 1 poblano pepper and an extra carrot. I also substituted 1 small sweet potato for the 2 other potatoes. I love simple recipes! This soup accompanied a grilled cheese, red onion and tomato sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I can't get over how delicious this soup is! I baked the squash as I do not like to chop. Caramelized the onions before adding the potatoes and carrots (I omitted the celery). And added the recommended 2 cloves minced garlic, 1/2 tsp curry, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp cayenne, and a dash of nutmeg. Blended about 3/4 of the batch to have some chunks. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsfromhandmadepots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This is a great start. Because I am vegan, I had to change a few things. While cooking the veggies I added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and salt and pepper. I also used low sodium veggie broth instead of chicken stock and vegan butter. Everything else I did the same. At the very end, I added 1 TBSP of curry powder, 1 TBSP of cinnamon, 1 TBSP of brown sugar, and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danielle B.
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I also found it bland so I added some heavy cream, garam masala, 2 bay leaves left to simmer, a dash of curry powder and a pinch of cayenne. I put about 75% of the soup into a food processor to leave some chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Made this for the first time tonight and it was a hit. I think the next time I'll forgo the salt and pepper; the flavor was wonderful without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Most excellent! I read the reviews and adapted this recipe to our taste as others did. I added a pablano pepper and a dash of cayenne. My family each had their favorite garnishes: feta cheese, Parmesan, cream cheese or sour cream. Outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Really easy and yummy! I cooked my onions in bacon drippings first, added only onion and two potatoes to my squash and chicken stock. Seasoned with clove of garlic, celery salt, fresh ground nutmeg, salt and pepper, curry powder. I blended only 2/3 of soup and added back into bite-sized pieces in rest of soup, then added some bits of chicken/spinach sausage. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I really Enjoyed this recipe! After reading the reviews, I made some modifications to the original. I did not use celery. I did not sautee the vegetables in butter. I cut up the butternut squash, baby carrots and a medium to large sweet potato and put them in a baking dish, drizzled them with olive oil and roasted them on 450 for 1 hour. Once the vegetables were done, I sauteed a medium sweet onion and one clove of garlic in olive oil. Just until the onions were soft. I added the roasted vegetables, onions, garlic and chicken broth in a large stock pot. I added nutmeg, black pepper and cinnamon. I simmered until vegetables were truly soft then pureed in a blender (well, my ninja, but you get the idea!). The soup can be as thick or thin as you like, just add more chicken broth and seasonings as needed. I served with a dollop of sour cream and was totally surprised at how delicious it was! Thanks so much for posting this recipe! I've been trying to figure out more ways to incorporate vegetables into my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,029) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States