Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
So I've made this recipe using the directions above for thanksgiving every year for three years. Today I added more veggies to it -- leek, turnip, parsnip, and parsley. This soup above is such a great base -- i can eat it like that or add more. This is a must-make for me every few weeks from nov to feb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
loved this recipe!! I did add the red pepper flakes that others suggested and it was mighty tasty! I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Rich vegetable flavor! i used cloves, cinnamon, cayenne and nutmeg to season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was delicious, simple and really lets the taste of butternut squash shine through! I did not add celery or carrots, and only had red potatoes. I added one garlic clove. I mashed the soup roughly in the pot when done, added a splash of half and half to each bowl as desired. A nice alternative to the cinnamon/ginger/curry types of squash soups. (ps - I microwaved the squash for 5 minutes, then peeled and cubed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made this tight for a cold and rainy Hawaii night. I usually don't get to make soups too much because if the weather but I was at Costco and came across a package of pre-cut and diced butternut squash. I followed the recipe almost exactly except I added 2 carrots and 2 cloves of garlic to the sautéed mix. It was super easy and the hubby and 3 year old loved it even without sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I have made this recipe before and really liked it, but, I knew the celery was too much...I did not omit it, just used a couple of sticks, plus 1 tbsp. extra of real butter, and a 1/2 c. of sour cream. Still lowfat, taste great, and good for you !! It's a "win win" !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Didn't change a thing. Family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Delicious and with no cream! I only used one potato and had no carrots on hand, otherwise used all the other ingredients listed. Also added a couple garlic cloves, cinnamon, curry, and nutmeg, as other reviewers suggested. I used a hand mixer in the pot to blend once simmered. Less to wash up afterwards! Dollop of sour cream was yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I used a food processer to chop everything and added garlic and some brocolli. I really liked the soup but I did not blend it in the end because the processer made everything small enough to leave all the vegies as is. Did not use celery either. Not a vegie eater and this soup was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great Soup! However I did follow suggestions from other reviews and omitted the potato and cooked the squash whole in the oven before peeling and mashing it for the soup (so much easier than cutting a raw squash!!). I also added 1/2 tsp curry powder, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, a dash of nutmeg, and 1-2 cloves garlic to the sauteeing veggies before adding the stock and then the squash. Finally, I don't have a full size blender so I just mashed the squash and added it to the soup and we still liked it! Definitely not a "creamy" texture if that's what you want, but still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States