Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
It's the best Butternut Squash Soup ever!!! Love it and perfect for this time of the year...(Fall).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ani
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
As others said it was a little plain with regular potatoes. I exchanged sweet potatoes for regular and omitted the celery. Added nutmeg and cayenne. Sour cream on top. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Heverly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Instead of butter, I cook bacon and use the bacon grease to cook the vegetables; I add sweet potatoes. I also add spices (salt, pepper, garlic, nutmeg, etc) and 1/2 cup of heavy cream. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Augienello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I have been making this soup for a few years, My ingredients are very similar to the ones in this recipe, I do not add celery and most of the time I use sweet potato, always onion and chicken broth. I also like to add a little heat either pepper flakes or cumin whatever mood I am in or how sweet the soup tastes, I also add some cream at the end and this makes it a wonderful COLD SOUP. I believe I like this better cold than hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I have tried this recipe and find that adding a apple to the mix and a touch of curry powder really makes the difference in making not so of a flat flavor. Flowerchild!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Wonderful, warming soup! I've changed it up according to other reviews . Sour cream is a must but i always use my mother in laws secret! Add cardamom to sour cream, let set overnight, it adds pizzaz!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This benefits from adding some spices. I added small amounts of ginger, cinnamon and garlic. You can cut down on cooking time by steaming the potatoes ( I only used 1) and onions and squash in the broth, then pureeing when soft. I left out the celery also and didn't miss it. Was quite delicious served with a few croutons for crunch. It also works well with vegetable broth for vegetarians!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is an excellent soup. The only change I made was to use celery leaves instead of the celery so no stringy stuff and keeps the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I agree that it is a bit bland. Try more onion, 1 clove garlic, minced , and 1/2 tsp curry and 1/3 c dry vermouth to really pick up the flavor. I serve this to guests frequently through the Fall and winter. Rich, creamy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Excellent!! I cooked a few garlic cloves with the onions and added pumpkin pie spice at the end. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States