Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I have been making this soup for a few years, My ingredients are very similar to the ones in this recipe, I do not add celery and most of the time I use sweet potato, always onion and chicken broth. I also like to add a little heat either pepper flakes or cumin whatever mood I am in or how sweet the soup tastes, I also add some cream at the end and this makes it a wonderful COLD SOUP. I believe I like this better cold than hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I have tried this recipe and find that adding a apple to the mix and a touch of curry powder really makes the difference in making not so of a flat flavor. Flowerchild!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Wonderful, warming soup! I've changed it up according to other reviews . Sour cream is a must but i always use my mother in laws secret! Add cardamom to sour cream, let set overnight, it adds pizzaz!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This benefits from adding some spices. I added small amounts of ginger, cinnamon and garlic. You can cut down on cooking time by steaming the potatoes ( I only used 1) and onions and squash in the broth, then pureeing when soft. I left out the celery also and didn't miss it. Was quite delicious served with a few croutons for crunch. It also works well with vegetable broth for vegetarians!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is an excellent soup. The only change I made was to use celery leaves instead of the celery so no stringy stuff and keeps the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I agree that it is a bit bland. Try more onion, 1 clove garlic, minced , and 1/2 tsp curry and 1/3 c dry vermouth to really pick up the flavor. I serve this to guests frequently through the Fall and winter. Rich, creamy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Excellent!! I cooked a few garlic cloves with the onions and added pumpkin pie spice at the end. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I found this recipe just browsing, looking for something fun to do for autumn. The recipe was a huge success, particularly with how good it made the house smell as it cooked. I read several of the recipe alterations from other users, and added as an afterthought some garlic powder and curry. The curry is a must! It made a fine soup all the better. I will try the suggestions of sour cream next time! As is, the recipe is an excellent place to start and allow you to add your own special touches to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brant Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Very good but a little bland still even after adding 1 tblsp. curry 1 tsp. garlic powder and 2 apples. I also cut it to one potato as someone else suggested. I think next time I'll add 2 Tblsp. curry and a pinch of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This recipe was great as written. Very satisfying. I didn't change a thing, but I think my husband thought it was going to be more like a stew. Next time I think I will remove half of the veggies at the end of the cooking time, use the immersion blender on the remaining contents of the pot, and then add back in the reserved chunks. To make it even healthier, I'll use coconut oil instead of butter, sweet potatoes instead of white and vegetable stock instead of chicken. I hope it turns out as good as this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthHappy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States