Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I edited this recipe by using 1/2 chicken stock and half skim milk. I did not have a potato but used a tomato and diced mango, instead. I added a pinch of crushed red pepper, a pinch of Chinese five spice, the juice and zest of half of a lime, a shake or two of Mrs. Dash salt free seasoning, a pinch of rubbed sage. I made these changes due to going away and needing to do a fridge clean out beforehand. The soup was gone in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Never making butternut soup I thought this recipe was basic and the finished product would probably just be average. It was incredible. I doubled the recipe and the soup was all gone within a day. The only extra I added was a half teaspoon of pumpkin spice. Am making it again to freeze down for the cold winter days. My family rated it an 11 out of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This was ok. Very flat so I had to doctor it with some dill, garlic and sour cream. My daughter cried and said it was "asgusting, gross soup". We love butternut squash but this is not a remake for our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
What I like most about this recipe was it's simplicity. I didn't contain any exotic ingredients that where not already stocked in my kitchen. I added come crumbled turkey bacon as a garnish which complimented the soup perfectly. My rating is for the soup alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Fantastic. I added garlic and jalapeños without the seeds.. I used vegetable broth to make it vegitarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I just made this today and it is Wonderful I did a few changes... I roasted the Butternut Squash, onion, and 3 cloves of garlic first. I did not have celery but used 2 carrots and 1/2 a sweet potato. It turned out so smooth and creamy the sour cream does complete the soup. Very easy to make and will make this a lot!! Maybe try a bit of crisp pancetta on top??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This recipe is great! I added a can of vegetable stock which gave it a little spice. I used my immersion blender (last year's Christmas present) for the first time and it made a very smooth soup. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This is definitely a new family favorite! I added 1 zuchinni and used beef stock to give it a more hearty flavor and my kids ate seconds and thirds! Thanks for the great idea! I will definitely use this one over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
HOLY MOLY this dish is delicious!! Of course, I made mine with sweet potatoes... so it may have been more sweet than expected. But none-the-less, this will be added to my regular repertoire of winter comfort foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeyWind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Awesome. I used acorn squash instead and added 1 teaspoon of garlic, paprika and curry. Amazing. Even my 9 yr old LOVED IT and my husband told me he'd rather have a 2nd bowl instead of chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,034) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States