Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Excellent!! I cooked a few garlic cloves with the onions and added pumpkin pie spice at the end. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I found this recipe just browsing, looking for something fun to do for autumn. The recipe was a huge success, particularly with how good it made the house smell as it cooked. I read several of the recipe alterations from other users, and added as an afterthought some garlic powder and curry. The curry is a must! It made a fine soup all the better. I will try the suggestions of sour cream next time! As is, the recipe is an excellent place to start and allow you to add your own special touches to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brant Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Very good but a little bland still even after adding 1 tblsp. curry 1 tsp. garlic powder and 2 apples. I also cut it to one potato as someone else suggested. I think next time I'll add 2 Tblsp. curry and a pinch of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This recipe was great as written. Very satisfying. I didn't change a thing, but I think my husband thought it was going to be more like a stew. Next time I think I will remove half of the veggies at the end of the cooking time, use the immersion blender on the remaining contents of the pot, and then add back in the reserved chunks. To make it even healthier, I'll use coconut oil instead of butter, sweet potatoes instead of white and vegetable stock instead of chicken. I hope it turns out as good as this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthHappy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made the soup as written and it was too bland (3 star). So, I decided to tweak it. Voila! A 4-5 star in my family's opinion. Everyone from little to 87 year old grandma loved it. My version: 1. Microwave a butternut squash for 12 min., cool, then peel. 2. Saute chopped onion, several cloves of garlic, celery, potatoes, carrot in butter with a couple Tbsp bacon grease until tender. 3. Add squash. 4. Add organic chicken broth. 5. Simmer for 1 hour or so. 6. Use a stick blender to puree. 7. Season with salt, pepper, cinnamon, ginger, curry, few drops of tabasco sauce, a little sriracha, and some sugar (all to taste). 8. Sprinkle with red pepper flakes. Thanks for the recipe to which I was able to add our own family's little twist. Delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
DELICIOUS! This is the first soup recipe I have tried to get me fall in love with soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Delicious! Did not change a thing in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yeyet06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Best recipe for butternut squash soup! I zadded just under 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Does not freeze well, but very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Nutritional and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Excellent soup. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States