Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Loved this recipe! My very first time making butternut soup so I took to reading the reviews first, I decided to add Garlic as well as some Cinnamon, Nutmeg and Paprika to my pot half-way during simmering; some Coriander just before it's done and finishing off with a splash of cream, it was such remarkable crowd pleaser! Will definitely be making this again and again. Definitely one to keep
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This soup was a little bland as written so I made a few changes as suggested by others. I baked the squash at 400 for 1 hour, added curry powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, and topped with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Amazing recipe! Followed as directed and I found it to be delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I had my doubts about this soup at first but changed a few things: 1. This recipe was very similar to the Cream of Red Pepper Soup so I used that one. 2. I cut the butternut squash in half and spread melted butter and maple syrup on both halves and put it in the oven. When it was soft enough, I scooped it out and added it to the soup mix. 3. Instead of using cream (too expensive for me) I substituted Evaporated milk. The soup was thick and creamy. The color was great and I still don't know which I like more - Sprinkled with nutmeg or black pepper. This soup will be made often along with the cream of red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlene
Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
My family really liked this, so I took it to our church's potluck. Those that ate it commented on how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very good. As others recommended used 1 sweet potato and one regular, and used the celery and carrot per the recipe. I did add a pinch of curry and some garlic, and topped with sour cream. I will definitely make this again; my whole family enjoyed this for Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Loved it! I made butternut squash soup before w cream cheese and didn't like how heavy it tasted! This was a good combination and really brings out the natural taste and aroma of the squash! I added some Cajun pepper and sour cream for added flavor! Suggest letting it simmer for another hour to really let the flavors out!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Wonderful recipe! We followed directions as written except I baked squash first and added to other veggies. Instead of butternut squash I used buttercup squash. Very rich flavor and the color glorious! Served with a splash of sherry in each bowl and a dollop of sour cream. A must for holiday dinners! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made it for the 1st time tonight. It's one of the most delicious soup I've ever made & except for half an apple added, followed recipe adding lots of pepper & bit of salt. Paired it with home made garlic toast it was a match. Simply perfect for the sub zero weather. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Simple ingredients, marvelous taste. My young son even likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONABOUT
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States