Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This soup is delicious! It was so good that I decided to serve it to my Thanksgiving guests and they all loved it-even my brother who doesn't like squash. The only thing I changed was leaving out the potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This is a really good soup for a cold winter day. My butternut squash was on the smallish side so I used one small butternut and one sweet dumpling squash. I added just a touch of brown sugar, since the sweet dumpling is not as sweet as the butternut and I used red pepper for a little kick. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I was skeptical at first but this is a Great soup! Lots of flavor and the blending of it (I used my food processor) makes it creamy and smooth which I love. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This recipe makes a great creamy soup without the cream! I substituted veggie oil for the butter to make it completely dairy free for allergic kids. Quick, easy, delicious - what more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This recipe could not be better. I love butternut squash soup so I make it often but hadn't found a perfect recipe to stick to until I found this one! It's so easy and delicious. I like that it doesn't have cream in it because I recently tried a fancy curried butternut squash soup with cream and it was terrible and took much longer to make. The only thing I did differently with this was I left out the potatoes. I also used a hand blender because that's all I had... but I don't recommend it because the soup kept flying up and hitting me. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This is my first time reviewing a recipe -- and I really felt like I should because this soup was very good. I did leave out the potatoes so it was a lower in carbs. But the most important part is that it was delicious and easy to make -- one of my new favorites ! Thanks Princess Krista K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I was looking for a healthy, low fat/ calorie food. To drop calories, I didn't use potatoes. Turned out wonderful! I added all the broth at once. If you want it thicker, just keep cooking until more liquid has evaporated. Nice meal with a sandwich or salad. Only 68 calories a cup! I bought another squash when the soup was gone because I had cravings for more. Thanks for sharing your simple & tasty recipe Krista!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
It took me a while longer to prepare than the recipe stated. I thought it was a great recipe, not much flavor but a great consistency. I added 2 tablespoons of cream cheese and a little curry powder for flavor. I would definitely make it again. Great staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Very balanced soup--flavors do not compete. Smooth texture. Delicious! Was going to try another Butternut Squash Soup recipe sometime to compare, but after tasting this one, and noticing the fat content in other recipes, why mess up a good thing? This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
This soup was wonderful. Very filling and healthy too! It also freezes well. I may experiment with seasoning next time and add a little less onion. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,028) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States