Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I made this exactly as written with the exception of cooking the squash in the microwave due to time constraints. I thought it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phairber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I made this soup exactly as instructed. My daughter was wanting me to make butternut squash soup. The smell in the house was amazing when it was cooking. The flavours are to die for. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is very good! however, I did not add the butter. This also worked for me by adding some pumpkin puree and a little milk. Why is the calorie intake so high on this though? it's just vegetables! this really shouldn't be more than 100-150 calories per 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I LOVED this recipe and just added a few tweaks to combine 2 recipes that sounded good. First, I roasted the squash the night before (mainly because the oven was on already)...this made peeling and curbing the squash easier and also cut down my simmering time in half. I also added 4oz of cream cheese to make it creamier. Lastly, I topped the soup with roasted squash seeds I had saved from the squash itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Excellent with the addition of 2 cloves of garlic and some cayenne to taste! Cooked the squash in the micro while chopping the veggies to simmer in the stock to save some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I made this soup using the pre-cut fresh cubes from Costco - super easy and fast! Used just a little coconut milk and nutmeg. Was SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ju.els
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I didn't think I'd like squash soup, but I really enjoyed this one! I picked this recipe for freezing purposes. I roasted the squash first for easy peeling and cubing. I only used 1 potato to prevent a mealy taste when its warmed back up.I also chose it because it doesn't have a dairy base so no worries about the dairy separating during freezing or adding dairy when re-heating. My photo is a shot of the soup before blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ju.els

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
first time making squash soup and thought it was fantastic; Only difference I made was using sea salt instead of table salt and added a large pinch of nutmeg at the end. Healthy, rich and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I have made this recipe numerous times. The last time I made it, I actually threw the whole butternut squash on the BBQ the night before and pre cooked it, stuck in the fridge overnight. It was super easy to work with, the fleshy part just scooped right off the skin. This batch of soup had a wonderful smokey flavor that really complimented the soup. I also add a dash of cayanne pepper to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
The reviews were spot on...I can't believe how easy and YUMMY the soup turned out! I didn't have any celery but just added more carrots instead. I didn't place it in the mixer...just kept it more chunky instead. Besides those 2 changes, I followed the recipe and ingredients as is. Definitely will make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,024) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States