Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This soup tastes just like Paradise Bakery's. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I don't really get all the negative reviews. I followed the recipe, except I used a hand blender instead of transferring because that's to much of a mess and more dishes to wash! It was really good! I didn't add any garlic which would've been nice additional flavor but w out it, it also tastes great! Definitely making this again...it's easy and a simple flavor. Great for cold nights and to make and freeze and safe for weekday evenings when you don't want to cook and want something yummy to warm up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is a fantastic fall soup - I added garlic, a small green pepper and 1/2 tsp. Curry - LOVE it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
First time making butternut squash and was quite pleased. Used celery and a sweet potatoe, plus the carrots, two cloves of garlic and spices mentioned in other ratings. I baked the squash first and it was very easy to peel, seed, and cut up. The sour cream is a must when serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This was not difficult to make but produced the blandest soup I think I've ever eaten. I had to add so many spices to this to make it worth keeping that I lost count. Won't be making this version of butternut soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Easy indeed, but the taste is too blend if you follow the recipe. I added a pinch of nutmeg, a small sprig of thyme. and 1/2 cup half and half cream. Remove the sprig before serving and pour drops of cream on top of each bowl, for a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I made this recipe a few years ago, however it was the base for a bisque where I added lobster. You need to buy a small whole lobster and sauté it, remove the meat and make a stock with the shells and use that along with the chicken stock. Makes for a great Thanksgiving accompaniment. I actually got the recipe from a local restaurant at one of their cooking demonstrations, a lot of work, but worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I've yet to try this recipe, but am about to use a butternut squash, grown in our garden. Last time I made pumpkin soup, the recipe called for the addition of garlic, omitted potato, but added a spoonful of maple syrup. The result was amazingly good. Can't find that recipe in time for lunch today, but am going to try to replicate it from memory. Seriously, do try adding the maple syrup instead of the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I used 1/2 butter 1/2 olive oil. I shortened prep time by just kind of chunking veggies then using the blender on pulse to leave it "un-perfect" or small chunks in a nicely creamed soup. I didn't use potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I made it strictly according to the directions and it turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States