Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Great recipe, Don't be afraid to freestyle a little with it. Use nutmeg, allspice, pepper and cumin to bring out the wonderful flavours of the base ingredients. I have had many requests to make this again! Love it! I would suggest that it takes a little longer than 5 minutes to 'brown' the veg base. Try 10-15 minutes. The extra time is worth the concentrated flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I roasted the squash first so it would be easy to peel. Other than that, I followed all other directions and did not change or omit any of the ingredients. Very flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this today. The first time I make a recipe I try and follow it exactly before I make changes so my review is based on the original. However, this time, I made a few (very few) changes but I don't think it made that major a difference so I will rate away. I began by piercing the squash and microwaving it for 10 minutes. Easy-peasy pealing. I did not use celery as I do not like celery in things and I did not use the regular potatoes. I used a sweet potato as my squash was kind of small and I thought this would help. I did the rest the same, but added about a tablespoon of freshly ground ginger and a dash of cayenne pepper. I served it with a dollop of sour cream. The soup was amazingly good. Oh, I used my stick blender to puree. I don't think the changes I made took that much away from the original recipe. It was excellent. Thank you for sharing. I will not buy Trader Joe's in a box any longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Morones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is the second winter and third time I've made this soup; I think it's awesome! I actually like the recipe as listed, but I do change up the directions just a tad. I cook down the onions and celery first to bring out more flavor, I add the salt and pepper when I add the stock (I also add minced garlic), and I use vegetable broth instead of chicken because of family vegetarians. Tip: Before you blend or puree your vegetables, remove a cup of the stock from the pot. That way when it is all pureed you can add in the some seasoned stock (not the bland box stock) if u want to change the consistency. Great recipe! Thank you, Maplebird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
delicious! i made a few changes. i baked the squash first. i omitted the potato and the celery. i added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. i used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. yum! i will definitely make this again. EASY to prepare and hearty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as printed.....It was wonderful....I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ediena Hawkes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deirdre White Jones
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Soup tasted delicious, but took forever to peel and cut the whole butternut squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This soup was very good. I cooked two minced garlic cloves with the onion, celery, etc. I added a pinch of dill weed and some hot pepper flakes to give it a kick. I only had two carrot sticks in the fridge, but it was fine with just that. I bought pre-peeled, pre-cut butternut squash, which made it easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Ahhhhh amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Make this every fall for the past 3 yrs. I add nutmeg to it. The potatoe provides a good balance to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States