Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This soup was very good and easy to make, I had left over squash from the center piece from our Thanksgiving Dinner and used it to make the soup. Made some corn bread to go with it and it was a big hit. Thanks for posting your recipe...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Todd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I gave this 4 stars because it's a good and easy base for a squash soup. I managed to mess it the instructions and added Miso Ginger Broth from Trader Joe's instead of the chicken broth and it was awesome! I also added a nutmeg and all spice to give it a little kick. I definitely plan on following some of the other suggestions made here by other posters. But my recommendation if you're looking for non-chicken broth is the one I mentioned above. It actually worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Amazing soup, I baked my squash in the oven first then scooped out to make the soup. Adding the squash after browning the other ingred. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Took users suggestions and roasted squash and spooned out. It was very easy and delish! Didnt think it needed the sour cream. Just added fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rainy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
The soup was okay. I don't like squash that much, so that's why. I added lots of pumpkin pie spice and nutmeg which helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I LOVED it! But found that peeling the squash time-consuming.. I've never done it before so must be an easier way. I didn't blend the whole amount, left a few junks of vegetables to chew on. having something to chew always makes you feel more full at the end of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I made this for my hubby last night, he loved it , however I did tweak it a bit after reading the reviews I added cinnamon, nutmeg, brown sugar, cream cheese and apple cider it was fantastic ty for the recipe will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
ok, i followed most everyone's advice about adding some additional spices and it payed off! i didn't have curry powder so i used paprika and also cumin, garlic powder (plus garlic glove in the beginning), pepper flakes and salt & pepper. SO YUMMY!! AND i also followed the advice to precook the squash before cutting up - i think that helped a lot. in fact, it was nice and soft when i added it to the mix so when it was time to puree i only had to use the non-electric hand held thingy. the squash mashed up nicely with big chunks of the other stuff. i served with sourdough toast and i used greek yogurt instead of sour cream in 1 bowl, but i could take it or leave it. i will probably use pre-cut squash next time, but my only real regret is not making more! thanks for the input everyone! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
The first time I made this I stuck to the recipe. This time I made some changes. Instead of butter, I used olive oil to lightly brown the vegetables. I also added some red pepper flakes to add a bit of spice and a little curry powder to add a little depth of flavor. At the end, instead of adding more stock, I added a little bit (like 2 T.) of half-and-half for richness. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly and it was easy to make and sooo good! I added in some curry seasoning and left out the celery. It is creamy and has great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States