Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Josef
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I had never tried squash before so I was not sure what to expect. Despite the very good reviews on this recipe, I could not help but notice a fair few said it was very bland, based on these reviews, I was not sure what to expect and so I did not have great expectations. The colour of the soup is amazing and the smell is great and as for the taste, I absolutely loved this, it actually is really creamy and full of flavour, I am not a huge fan of soup normally but I was so pleased with this I wanted more (I made enough for 4 servings and as it is just for myself, I get to look forward to every bowl). Definitely goes onto my "make every third week" recipe list. It was the best soup I have ever tasted or at least the best in a very long time, if I had paid for this as a starter in a restaurant I would have been really happy with my choice. I am baffled as to why anyone would say this soup is bland... I used just black pepper on top and added a dash of cinnamon, it was delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I took the veggies as suggested here, and sweet potato to butternut squash soup with a kick. wonderful base/ marriage to make a soup I'll definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Love this recipe & have made numerous times, usually adding cumin & sometimes a pinch of curry. I like chopping up all the veggies, minus celery & wrapping in foil & baking in oven first, then putting all with juices in blender & adding it to the chicken stock till desired consistency is reached. Haven't tried the sour cream, will do that tonight as have the veggies roasting in the oven as I write this - bonnieg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I could eat this every day for the rest of my life. We added some cubed ham and it was very hearty. Add some buttered french bread and a glass of wine and it makes a perfect winter evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
So yummy! I left out the carrot (didn't have any on hand). I added garlic salt, nutmeg, paprika, and Himalayan pink sea salt. I also topped it with kale 'chips'. It turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Never had butternut soup,but boy was it good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This was delicious. The first time I made it it was perfect. I left out the celery and onion and used veggie stock. I added garlic and curry powder based on another review. I underestimated how much chopped up butternut squash I had but this was a good thing. I used fewer potatoes and carrots and less veggie stock and the soup was thick and sweet and delicious. The second time I followed the recipe more closely (no celery and onion, though) and it wasn't nearly as sweet and flavorful. I could taste the potatoes more than the butternut squash. I will definitely make it like I did the first time in the future. It was good both times; the first way was just more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Delicious base recipe! I added garlic, and used frozen pureed butternut squash to save time. It was ready very quickly. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
How easy! I cooked this in my rice cooker!! This recipe was incredible! I love butternut squash soup, but this is my new favourite. I cut the squash, removed the seeds, rubbed it with olive oil, then roasted it in the oven first for more flavour and to make peeling it easier. I highly recommend this step! My only complaint is that I found that the potato added a bit of graininess to the otherwise velvety texture of this soup. I'm thinking that it may be because I used russet potatoes? I'm thinking that I should have maybe used Yukon or new potatoes? I'll have to play with that a bit. I finished the soup with a hand blender and a dollop of sour cream (low fat). The soup tastes great without it, but it is even better with it. I also tried it with a touch of cinnamon and curry and preferred the flavour with those spices, rather than without... but to each their own. Try this soup! You won't be let down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purple_inferno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
This was great. My husband especially liked it. It was so easy to make, and so delicious and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esha Bell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,028) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States