Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made the soup as written and it was too bland (3 star). So, I decided to tweak it. Voila! A 4-5 star in my family's opinion. Everyone from little to 87 year old grandma loved it. My version: 1. Microwave a butternut squash for 12 min., cool, then peel. 2. Saute chopped onion, several cloves of garlic, celery, potatoes, carrot in butter with a couple Tbsp bacon grease until tender. 3. Add squash. 4. Add organic chicken broth. 5. Simmer for 1 hour or so. 6. Use a stick blender to puree. 7. Season with salt, pepper, cinnamon, ginger, curry, few drops of tabasco sauce, a little sriracha, and some sugar (all to taste). 8. Sprinkle with red pepper flakes. Thanks for the recipe to which I was able to add our own family's little twist. Delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
DELICIOUS! This is the first soup recipe I have tried to get me fall in love with soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Delicious! Did not change a thing in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yeyet06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Best recipe for butternut squash soup! I zadded just under 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Does not freeze well, but very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Nutritional and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Excellent soup. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Absolutely delicious. Didn't have an onion so used onion powder. Still tasted great. Will be a repeat soup....so easy and next time will try some different spices for a change in taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Love it. Easy to prepare. I did add some garlic and some chili powder to kick it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Very Good! I used 1 box of chicken broth & 1 box of beef broth and added a clove of garlic. It was delicious (not bland), and I will definitely make it again. Try putting everything in a slow cooker on low for 8hrs, then blending with an immersion blender. Easy & freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I made this for the first time and absouloutly loved it,vry filling & yummy,easy & quick to make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States