Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Glad that I've found this recipe because I have 2 cups of leftover butternut squash. I also add half of an onion, baby portobello mushrooms, and broccoli stems. The color was beautiful with mixture of orange, green, and brown. The flavor was also well-balanced. Suggestion on the amount of chicken stock. Instead of adding 5 cups of stock all at once, add 1 cup stock at a time and let the rice cooks. Add another cup when the liquid is reduced. This way, you have the control over the total amount of stock that is needed in your risotto. Also, have fun adding other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I would rate this a hundred stars if i could. We make it all the time now. I get a butternut, cook it and divide it into 10 ounce portions and freeze the squash. Then all i have to do is defrost it and make the risotto. Make sure you use excellent quality broth because it really a main ingredient, like Imagine brand or PC orgaincs. No campbells here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This was delicious! I baked the squash and doubled the recipe. It got so big that I needed two skillets, and they were both very full. The favor was a little bit too salty for me. I think I will use half broth and half water next time. Other than that, it was really good! If it wasn't so time consuming, I would commit to making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Excellent! Improved by the addition of nutmeg, garlic, lots of black pepper, and even mushrooms at the onion stage. Fresh thyme at the end and double squash (some pureed, some in steamed chunks added at the end)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
SO tasty! As per other reviewers, I used only 3 cups of broth and it turned out perfect. It was time consuming to prepare the squash, but well worth it. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was our first time making risotto, I roasted the squash in the oven instead of steaming it was just easier for me and didn't use any wine. This was time consuming but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
LOVED it! Even better 2 days later ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lndz123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Good recipe, but I would change some things next time. I would cut the chicken broth with water as the chicken broth is salty and the chicken taste really comes out in the dish, particularly the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Good recipe, but I would recommend changing the proportions slightly. I used four cups of butternut squash, and only 3 cups of stock. This way, you can put the stock in 1 cup at a time. or 1 cup, 1/2, etc. I also added some diced mushrooms which worked fabulously with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Great as a side dish but as a main course maybe add sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acali07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States