Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
For those of you questioning the amount of stock, risotto recipes typically ask you to warm up more stock than is needed since you don't know the exact amount that it will take to get your risotto done. I always have stock left over and typically just let it cool then freeze the rest. As for those commenting that it doesn't make a great main dish, it isn't meant to. It is a starchy side dish, most don't make a meal out of mashed potatoes either, no matter how much they love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
It was really good. I also changed the stock to 3 cups and baked the squash in the oven. I did add mushrooms and peppers with the onion, and also added some chicken for more of a meal. Since I did add more to the rice, I would of added 1/2 cup more of stock. I used 2 cups of mashed squash, and really would of wanted to use double for more sweet flavor. I still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
It was my first time making risotto and this recipe was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Used long grain rice and worked well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Firstly, this recipe IS tasty - I added quite a bit of pepper and almost half a cup of cheese, not the 1/4 called for. But I gave it three stars because the proportions are off for sure. I ended up adding about 1/4 cup MORE rice to soak up all that stock and this recipe is HUGE - I'm giving some away because even with leftovers, there's only 3 of us in my household and there's no way we can finish it off. Also, it does not take 35 minutes to cook. Took me closer to an hour!!!! This is not a quick weeknight meal addition. Give yourself some time for this one. The taste is good but realistically is subjective to how much cheese/salt/pepper and what kind of squash (freshly roasted/store bought chunks/frozen) you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylieL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havelock, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Update: This is a fabulous recipe that you can make even better (if you can believe it) if you roast the butternut squash instead of steaming it. Just cut it up in cubes and drizzle with olive oil and a little salt and pepper and bake at 425 for about 20 minutes. Test to be sure it's tender. And then smash just like the recipe says and follow all other directions. Soooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I made this exactly as written and found it bland. It needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
A little time consuming, but all good risotto is. I have made this twice. Once with butternut squash and once with fresh pumpkin and top it off with a garlic, wine sautéed shrimp. Both fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I was unable to taste the squash at all. I am going to try again, and may change my review then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSeussFreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
The liquid measurement was, indeed, totally off. I want to say I used no more than 3 - 3.5 cups in all. The flavor is good, especially after the addition of the parmesan. I used veggie broth in place of chicken, and added quite a bit of black pepper. Per another user's suggestion, I cut the squash in half, brushed with olive oil and roasted at 400 degrees, face down, for about an hour, then simply scooped out the squash. I pureed it with 1 cup of broth in a blender to get it super silky smooth. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States