Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
The risotto heads might not agree but 5 cups of broth was over kill. A little soupy.. It would have been better if I went with my gut and did 4-41/2 cups. That being said it was very tasty added bell pepper, garlic, and fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This recipe blew me away. Maybe it's because I've never had risotto before, or maybe this recipe really stands above that "this rocked my world" bar, but I am a new believer that this has to be a regular part of my meal rotations. My friends that helped cook this with me went on and on about it, beside themselves with glee over how good it was. They were shocked that they had lived into their thirties, and had never tasted such a delight. We ate it all between the three of us over the course of two days, and made it again the next night because we just had to have it again. The recipe was followed exactly with nuanced ingredient modifications. We used sweet white onions, that happened to be in season, fresh-grated Asiago in place of Parmesan, and this year's vintage Barefoot Pinot Grigio. It helped to have multiple hands around to take turns stirring the pot while the moisture simmers off, and to monitor the texture to perfect creamy consistency. Over the moon to have discovered this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Huxster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
We just made this, it's so good and easy (just time consuming)! I cubed and roasted my squash the day before, then spun it with a 1/2 cup broth in the food processor to mash. I added 4 cloves of garlic to the onion. I only used 3 more cups of broth (so 3.5 total). Waited until the last 3rd of broth went in to add the last 1/2 of the squash, also added spices then (salt, pepper, nutmeg, coriander). Served with pork tenderloin, which was an excellent pairing. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avalon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
So easy and delicious. Everyone including my 2 year old loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
In a word, YUM! I was searching for something different to do with butternut squash and found this recipe. I had to adapt a bit due to ingredients on hand (no wine, and only had long grain brown rice). I decreased the chicken broth to 3+ cups, and cooked the squash in another 1/2 cup of the broth. I also had to stir/cook a bit longer since brown rice does't seem to absorb as well as Arborio. Otherwise followed the recipe. A big hit with me and my husband. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
It took forever to have the rice absorb all this broth and it mainly tastes chicken broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Bake squash (cut in half and seeded, squash side down) at 375 for 40-45 minutes. Scoop out squash, and then make puree in blender. I usually like to use the whole squash at the same time so I increase the servings so that it reads 4 cups cubed squash (about 3 cups puree squash). I also make some garlic shrimp with oregano and throw that into the butternut squash risotto!! SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Great and easy to make! My kids enjoy it also, it almost tastes like a mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I found this Recipe to be very tasty, but I had to alter the Recipe considerably. I added the Chicken Stock one cup at a time and on a Medium to High Temperature. I also only used a total of 3 cups of Chicken Stock. I also really chopped my Fresh Butternut Squash really small, I also added a Fresh Garlic, with the Fresh Sauting Onions and Risotto, and some canned mushrooms. Also, I sprinkled in some dried Oregano, Parsley, and Basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This was delicious and we added sliced chicken to make it a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana Renfro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States