Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Loved this! So delicious and flavorful, especially once the parmesan has been added. Peeling and chopping butternut squash is a pain. Here's my suggestion - simply cut the squash in half and remove the seeds with a spoon. Then, place (peel down) on a baking sheet and bake at 400 for 40-45 min, or until the squash is tender. Then, just scoop out the squash and voila! easy puree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was delicious! I will be making this over and over again. A tip if you are short on time or don't want to spend the time cooking/cuting/mashing a fresh butternut squash: you can substitute a 10 oz. box from the freezer section with the same results. It is alread pureed, just pop it in the microwave to have it at a hot temperature and then add it in two batches (half in the beginning, half toward the end). This was soooo good. Thanks Ms. Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Wow, I really loved this risotto! I do have to say that I chopped my squash and cooked it before peeling as someone recommended and completely regretted it. I was chopping off squash skins for like 30 minutes. Fortunately, this is the most delicious thing I've eaten in quite some time. Taking another reviewer's advice, I only used 3 cups of chicken broth and it was perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I love butternut squash and have made this recipe several times now, tweaking a bit differently each time. My favorite version uses a package of pre-cubed/peeled squash dusted with cinnamon and nutmeg from Whole Foods. I roast it for 20 minutes instead of steaming. I use 3 cups of veggie stock and 1 cup of Pacific butternut squash soup. I've added chopped crimini mushrooms once as well, this is a fabulous risotto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was my first try at a squash risotto after having become a risotto cook with the mushroom-gorgonzola variety. Using tips I saw from other recipes I opted for putting in only half the squash with the first 3rd of the stock, and added the rest when the recipe was near completion. That helped me control the consistency. I made a 1-1/2 recipe, and I ended up with a lot of leftover stock. I also roasted my squash rather than steamed it. It seemed to me an easier way to prepare the squash since you don't have to peel and chop or own a steamer basket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
My kids & hubby LOVED this recipe, but for me I am a fan of more savory risotto recipes. So I tried to add things to make it more to my taste buds - I amended the recipe as per other feedback and doubled the squash & rice amount, but I also added garlic with the onions, and placed about 2/3 cup chopped brown mushrooms with the 4th cup of broth and then added a pinch of cinnamon & allspice and parsley for some more flavor. I would also recommend that you wait until the VERY end to add the squash (not half up front as per recipes directions). My experience with risotto is that you must let the liquid absorption happen before adding the flavoring ingredients. In this case, the thickness of the squash interfered with the broth absorption and made it more difficult to stir and it would sometimes stick to the bottom...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Risotto is a staple in our house, and I make it often. I found this version to be pretty bland, and, as others have pointed out, it uses way too much stock. Next time I would add a tbsp of brown and some cinnamon to try and add flavor. I would also roast the squash instead of steaming it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I've made basic risotto bunches of times - everyone here is right - the proportions are off. If you double the rice and the squash it turns into a great vegetarian main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This is really tasty but the stock needs reduced, I actually substituted organic buternut squash soup (the pacific brand) instead of the chopped squash and used 1/2 stock 1/2 soup. It was quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This is a really nice fall dish, took a little while to cook though. I didn't peel the squash before I steamed it - it peels more easily afterwards. Also, I used a veggie broth to make it vegetarian. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States