Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Excellent! Improved by the addition of nutmeg, garlic, lots of black pepper, and even mushrooms at the onion stage. Fresh thyme at the end and double squash (some pureed, some in steamed chunks added at the end)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
SO tasty! As per other reviewers, I used only 3 cups of broth and it turned out perfect. It was time consuming to prepare the squash, but well worth it. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was our first time making risotto, I roasted the squash in the oven instead of steaming it was just easier for me and didn't use any wine. This was time consuming but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
LOVED it! Even better 2 days later ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lndz123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Good recipe, but I would change some things next time. I would cut the chicken broth with water as the chicken broth is salty and the chicken taste really comes out in the dish, particularly the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Good recipe, but I would recommend changing the proportions slightly. I used four cups of butternut squash, and only 3 cups of stock. This way, you can put the stock in 1 cup at a time. or 1 cup, 1/2, etc. I also added some diced mushrooms which worked fabulously with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Great as a side dish but as a main course maybe add sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acali07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This recipe is good, though I did not need to double it as it made a LOT. I also changed it up quite a bit. Roasted the squash in the oven as other reviewers had recommended. Sauteed the onions with mushrooms and garlic for more flavor. Am not sure why so much chicken stock is needed. My doubled recipe used only about 6 cups. It also took waaay longer to cook than stated, so I gave up on the recipe time and just cooked it until the rice was done. Since many reviewers had commented that it was bland, I also added a homemade feta cheese dressing from another salad, mixing it in at the end to taste. It gave it a creamier flavor. Lastly, added Beecher's flagship cheese as the topping. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was wonderful! It was creamy and flavorful. I cut the squash in half and cooked it cut-side down under some plastic wrap in the microwave for 12 minutes and then scooped it out with an ice cream scoop. It does seem like a lot of liquid going in, but that's how it is with risotto. I just kept stirring and adding more stock until it was incorporated. I did use a lid to help the rice soak up the stock a bit quicker but it turned out and I think I will make it again when I have plenty of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was okay. I cooked a total of about 25 minutes and used all the liquid but the end result wasn't very creamy. I added the squash at the end of cooking but when it all came together the flavors weren't really there and it was kind of pasty in the mouth. It wasn't my favorite but enjoyed making it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States