Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Update: This is a fabulous recipe that you can make even better (if you can believe it) if you roast the butternut squash instead of steaming it. Just cut it up in cubes and drizzle with olive oil and a little salt and pepper and bake at 425 for about 20 minutes. Test to be sure it's tender. And then smash just like the recipe says and follow all other directions. Soooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I made this exactly as written and found it bland. It needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
A little time consuming, but all good risotto is. I have made this twice. Once with butternut squash and once with fresh pumpkin and top it off with a garlic, wine sautéed shrimp. Both fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I was unable to taste the squash at all. I am going to try again, and may change my review then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSeussFreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
The liquid measurement was, indeed, totally off. I want to say I used no more than 3 - 3.5 cups in all. The flavor is good, especially after the addition of the parmesan. I used veggie broth in place of chicken, and added quite a bit of black pepper. Per another user's suggestion, I cut the squash in half, brushed with olive oil and roasted at 400 degrees, face down, for about an hour, then simply scooped out the squash. I pureed it with 1 cup of broth in a blender to get it super silky smooth. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is an awesome way to use garden produce, I really love risotto and the sweetness of the squash added a lot of depth to a regular old risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This was really good. I used frozen butternut squash which made the prep work shorter/easier. I only used 4 cups of chicken broth and added it 1 cup at a time. I didn't add the next cup of broth until the previous cup had been fully absorbed by the rice. After the final of cup of broth is added and almost fully absorbed, I stirred in the squash puree, parmisan cheese, and a ton of chopped fresh parsley and basil. I then covered it for the last few minutes of cooking. Every bite was delicious. However, every bite that had a bit of the fresh basil was absolutely heavenly!! Total cooking time was around 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Inspired by MasterChef last night, I decided to make to make the Risotto as today's lunch. Exactly followed this recipe, to make it more interesting, I added some tuna, turn out great! My husband gave it a 'Ten out of ten"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I played around a bit with this one, and it was great. To make it completely vegetarian, I used veggie stock. I microwaved the squash cubes until tender, which worked out fine. I also added about a tablespoon of currey powder while stirring for a litte kick. We just had the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tremont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Glad that I've found this recipe because I have 2 cups of leftover butternut squash. I also add half of an onion, baby portobello mushrooms, and broccoli stems. The color was beautiful with mixture of orange, green, and brown. The flavor was also well-balanced. Suggestion on the amount of chicken stock. Instead of adding 5 cups of stock all at once, add 1 cup stock at a time and let the rice cooks. Add another cup when the liquid is reduced. This way, you have the control over the total amount of stock that is needed in your risotto. Also, have fun adding other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States