Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I would rate this a hundred stars if i could. We make it all the time now. I get a butternut, cook it and divide it into 10 ounce portions and freeze the squash. Then all i have to do is defrost it and make the risotto. Make sure you use excellent quality broth because it really a main ingredient, like Imagine brand or PC orgaincs. No campbells here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This was delicious! I baked the squash and doubled the recipe. It got so big that I needed two skillets, and they were both very full. The favor was a little bit too salty for me. I think I will use half broth and half water next time. Other than that, it was really good! If it wasn't so time consuming, I would commit to making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Excellent! Improved by the addition of nutmeg, garlic, lots of black pepper, and even mushrooms at the onion stage. Fresh thyme at the end and double squash (some pureed, some in steamed chunks added at the end)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
SO tasty! As per other reviewers, I used only 3 cups of broth and it turned out perfect. It was time consuming to prepare the squash, but well worth it. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was our first time making risotto, I roasted the squash in the oven instead of steaming it was just easier for me and didn't use any wine. This was time consuming but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
LOVED it! Even better 2 days later ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lndz123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Good recipe, but I would change some things next time. I would cut the chicken broth with water as the chicken broth is salty and the chicken taste really comes out in the dish, particularly the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Good recipe, but I would recommend changing the proportions slightly. I used four cups of butternut squash, and only 3 cups of stock. This way, you can put the stock in 1 cup at a time. or 1 cup, 1/2, etc. I also added some diced mushrooms which worked fabulously with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Great as a side dish but as a main course maybe add sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acali07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This recipe is good, though I did not need to double it as it made a LOT. I also changed it up quite a bit. Roasted the squash in the oven as other reviewers had recommended. Sauteed the onions with mushrooms and garlic for more flavor. Am not sure why so much chicken stock is needed. My doubled recipe used only about 6 cups. It also took waaay longer to cook than stated, so I gave up on the recipe time and just cooked it until the rice was done. Since many reviewers had commented that it was bland, I also added a homemade feta cheese dressing from another salad, mixing it in at the end to taste. It gave it a creamier flavor. Lastly, added Beecher's flagship cheese as the topping. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States