Butternut Squash Ravioli with Sage-Brown Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I've prepared this recipe several times and it is always a hit. I've replaced the butternut squash with sweet potatoes and have also combined the two and it always turns out fantastic. I also bake the ravioli's for a few minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was very disapointing, the wonton wrappers just didn't work.I ended up deepfrying the rest I had and they were ok with a mustard dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I found these lacking something. I'm not a very experienced cook, so I can't tell you what...just needed some extra flavor. Also, I found that the wanton wrappers made too much "dough" for the amount of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
i didn't try making this, but i went to a restaurant and i had exactly this. hm. anyway, i thought it was very good when i had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
The idea of the recipe sounded wonderful. I was experimenting with making my own pasta so I only used the recipe part for the filling. I found that the squash flavor was completely overpowered by the spices added. If I ever attempt to make butternut squash ravioli again, I would significantly cut down the spices or just add brown sugar and let the squash stand on its own in the ravioli. I love butternut squash and I feel that this recipe was a waste of a very nice vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
My husband made these for me last night after I challanged him to make butternut squash ravioli. Since grilled cheese and burgers are more his style, I thought this turned out very well! I agree with other posters, the butternut squash taste is a bit overwhelmed by the spices but if you use a light touch I think the filling works quite well. We balanced with an a light alfredo sauce and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I love this recipe. I made it for my husband on our anniversary and knocked his socks off. Yum, yum, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I had some Pumpkin Ravioli in the freezer so decided to use the Brown Butter sauce in this recipe. I found it to be very rich. Could only eat half the ravioli I would normally eat (but maybe thats a good thing!!!). The sage flavour didn't really come through the butter but it was nice when you got a piece of crispy cooked sage with the pasta. Would use again as a starter but not as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I really liked the ravioli, but next time think I will add some chopped mushrooms to the squash for a little additional texture. I used a fork to crimp the edges after sealing with egg white. Followed the advice to put boiled ravioli in oven ... but be sure to lightly grease the cookie sheet first to avoid sticking. I covered mine with a sheet of sprayed foil too so they lightly steamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karol
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
The filling and sauce was awesome but I actually didn't like the wontons (too thin, they fell apart, see the pic I posted) and would make my own dough for this ravioli next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karol

Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States