Butternut Squash Ravioli with Sage-Brown Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I've prepared this recipe several times and it is always a hit. I've replaced the butternut squash with sweet potatoes and have also combined the two and it always turns out fantastic. I also bake the ravioli's for a few minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I only used one wonton with a teaspoon of filling and folded into a triangle. I had a lot of filling left over that put into the freezer to make again. My Husband kept saying how gourmet this dish was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
The idea of the recipe sounded wonderful. I was experimenting with making my own pasta so I only used the recipe part for the filling. I found that the squash flavor was completely overpowered by the spices added. If I ever attempt to make butternut squash ravioli again, I would significantly cut down the spices or just add brown sugar and let the squash stand on its own in the ravioli. I love butternut squash and I feel that this recipe was a waste of a very nice vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This recipe was great! Based on other reviews I added two finely portabella mushroom caps to the squash mixture and used only one wonton wrapper per ravioli (about 1 tsp of the squash mixture). Instead of the Sage brown-butter sauce, I made my own gorgonzola cream sauce with thyme. My friend who hates squash loved this recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I had some Pumpkin Ravioli in the freezer so decided to use the Brown Butter sauce in this recipe. I found it to be very rich. Could only eat half the ravioli I would normally eat (but maybe thats a good thing!!!). The sage flavour didn't really come through the butter but it was nice when you got a piece of crispy cooked sage with the pasta. Would use again as a starter but not as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Karol
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
The filling and sauce was awesome but I actually didn't like the wontons (too thin, they fell apart, see the pic I posted) and would make my own dough for this ravioli next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karol
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
My husband made these for me last night after I challanged him to make butternut squash ravioli. Since grilled cheese and burgers are more his style, I thought this turned out very well! I agree with other posters, the butternut squash taste is a bit overwhelmed by the spices but if you use a light touch I think the filling works quite well. We balanced with an a light alfredo sauce and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I wanted to make home-made pasta for the first time for my boyfriend over the holidays, and because he likes butternut squash soup so much I decided to try this recipe. OH MY GOSH I was not expecting it to be SO good!! I was skeptical about the sauce at first, but made it anyway to stay true to the recipe and I'm glad I did. My boyfriend loved this recipe so much that he bought me a pasta roller for Christmas so that I would make it again for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I really liked the ravioli, but next time think I will add some chopped mushrooms to the squash for a little additional texture. I used a fork to crimp the edges after sealing with egg white. Followed the advice to put boiled ravioli in oven ... but be sure to lightly grease the cookie sheet first to avoid sticking. I covered mine with a sheet of sprayed foil too so they lightly steamed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luna
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I made this recipe and it turned out great. I agree, it is a dish that is easy, yet your guest will be impressed with. I added a pict or two of mine on this site. I sandwiched my filling between the wonton wraps and used a wash of corn starch and water as a sealer, then cut them out using a round scollop edge cookie/buscuit cutter. The only spice I used in my filling was a pinch of nutmeg & salt and a little grated parm, corse black pepper and some finely chopped parsley. Don't skip the sage in the sauce...it makes the flavor's pop! I would recomend this recipe, for a side dish or pasta course with pork, a salad or green vegetable & some good bread, for a simple but great meal for dinner guest's or, just for your family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States