Butternut Squash Ravioli with Sage-Brown Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was too time consuming and didn't work for me at all. Sorry, but I thought it would be better than it ended up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I really hate to give a recipe only one star, but this was a complete and total flop for me. The idea sounded so amazing...what isn't to love about tender squash-filled ravioli swimming in sage brown butter sauce? But this fell WAY short of my expectations. First of all, the wonton wrappers totally failed as a noodle replacement. The ones that didn't rip while being placed in the water got extremely soggy, and some even popped, after they cooked for about a minute. And the filling was also pretty awful...the combination of sweet spices and Parmesan cheese made for a bitter, weird tasting filling that didn't improve the soggy noodles. The only redeeming factor was the butter sauce...it made the ravioli edible. I was really looking forward to trying this, and was disappointed with the results. Thanks for sharing, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
The flavor was really bland and on the sweet side for my taste. And maybe I didn't cook them right but the won-ton wrapper made them slimy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OriginalPsyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This review is just for the sauce. This is the most suggested sauce for Butternut Squash ravioli that I saw, and obviously for good reason. I bought a package of (Monterey) ravioli's that were delicious but this sauce made them excellent! Make sure to use unsalted butter and extra sage! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
The sauce was awful. I didn't try the homemade ravioli so I can't attest to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I liked the ravioli filling, but did not enjoy the sauce at all. Luckily, I stuffed shells as opposed to making individual raviolis. In the end, I emptied all of the shells, added broth, cream, and vegetables and had a good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Yuck. The wonton wrappers made slimy ravioli....we liked the flavor, but threw away most of what we made because we couldn't stand the texture. Maybe I'll try to pop em in the oven to dry em out a bit? seems like a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
used half the seasoning as suggested in another review. The filling was tasty, but had trouble with the wontons. I will again and make my own shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Although very interesting, I just thought it was too rich tasting for a main course. My sister really liked it, my husband hated it, and I enjoyed about 3 wontons worth. I don't think it's worth the effort, however, if wanting to do a gourmet-type meal and your company likes the flavors, then would make a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I gave this recipe 3 stars because I really liked the idea of using wonton wrappers to make ravioli. The reason I didn't give it more stars is because the seasonings made it taste like pumpkin pie wrapped in pasta. The sage butter sauce didn't work at all in my opinion. The first serving was a total loss. For sauce for the remaining ravioli, I sauteed fresh minced garlic and basil in olive oil. This helped balance out the too-pie-like flavor of the ravioli and we were able to eat the rest of it. Next time, I will only season the squash with Parmesan cheese, garlic and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States