Butternut Squash Ravioli with Sage-Brown Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
A great meal idea! I made it using my own whole wheat pasta recipie, and a ravioli press. simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I'm going to rate this for the brown butter sauce only. Store bought butternut squash is to good to do all the work at home. I have made this with both fresh sage and ground. I prefer the fresh. I kept the leaves whole and when they crisp up in the butter- YUM!! This is a very easy week night no fuss no muss meatless dinner. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made these twice. The filling is good as side dish, however I found the wonton wrappers were not a good tasting cover. If you didn't really seal them well, they opened up in the water, they also became water logged when they cooked. Nanc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
The flavors are too extreme. I would leave out the all spice & cut back on the nutmeg & cinnamon. Even the sage butter sauce was too extreme, need to cut waaaaay back on the amount of sage. I do enjoy flavorful food as well as intesteing & unexpected flavor combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
this required soooo much work that i probably won't make it again- we had a butternut squash given to us by my farming neighbor so wanted to do something special with it, but this took a couple of hours and i wasn't all that pleased with the results. folded these wonton style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was an okay dish. I agree with other reviewers that the wontons seemed gummy or pasty. The dish did not reheat well. It was somewhat labor intensive, especially for a rather iffy result. I didn't have the issue with the spices as I reduced the amount; it just looked like it would be too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luna
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I made this recipe and it turned out great. I agree, it is a dish that is easy, yet your guest will be impressed with. I added a pict or two of mine on this site. I sandwiched my filling between the wonton wraps and used a wash of corn starch and water as a sealer, then cut them out using a round scollop edge cookie/buscuit cutter. The only spice I used in my filling was a pinch of nutmeg & salt and a little grated parm, corse black pepper and some finely chopped parsley. Don't skip the sage in the sauce...it makes the flavor's pop! I would recomend this recipe, for a side dish or pasta course with pork, a salad or green vegetable & some good bread, for a simple but great meal for dinner guest's or, just for your family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I thought this recipe was not good at all. The squash didn't even taste like squash. If I wanted to eat pumpkin pie (or pumpkie pie filling) i would have made pumpkin pie. The Spices completly over powered the squash. I was very dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I tried this dish at a restaurant and loved it! So I looked up the recipe for it an got this one as one of many results. This recipe is comparable to what I had at the restaurant! It's really tasty, especially on a cold wintery day. The only changes I made, was to add toasted pine nuts to the sage sauce, and I made my own ravioli sheets. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie802

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Worth the effort. First bite was eye-popping wow experience. The sage butter sauce just brings it all together. Added a little agave to the filling, to "fatten" the flavor. If you skimp on the spices, sorry, you're a wimp ;-) Only thing I might do differently next time: The won ton wrapping does not have an "Italian" mouthfeel. I'd love to try it with semolina dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan Naramore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States