Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This is very similar to a pizza I make quite often, the only changes being that when I roast the Butternut Squash (we call it pumpkin here in Australia) is that I also add a little balsamic vinegar to the roasting pan. This helps the onions and squash caramelise beautifully. I have also in the past roasted different vegetables to go on the pizza... things like new asparagus, cherry tomatoes, zucchini or eggplant. Further to that after the vegetables are roasted I add Proscuitto to the pizza, as well as some goats cheese or feta (depending on what I have on hand)and a little parmesan or pecorino along with some mozzarella. Serve with a simple green salad of baby spinach leaves with a balsamic vinegarette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Helman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankston, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Wow, I was so surprised by this recipe. It came out awesome, and I don't normally like Butternut Squash at ALL. This recipe can even be enjoyed cold. It's sweet, fragrant, and so good for you. I used only a small amount of cheese (Monteray Jack & Parmasean). I also carmelized the onions instead of putting them in the oven with the squash. It was someones GREAT suggestion that the butternut squash be boiled on the stove for 4 minutes in order to aid in peeling. Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leyden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This is a great recipe! Here is how my boyfriend and I spiced this up a bit. Add Olive Oil and chopped garlic to the crust (we used a already made pizza crust. Then top with the squash and onions. Before putting on the Parmesan, top with shredded mozzarella. Bake the same way as the recipe. Mmmm....it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
In a word - Amazing. Loaded with flavor. I carmelized red onions with a little bit of balsamic and sugar instead of baking them, and put it on top of the roast squash. Instead of parm (which I will still try), I used a light (!! - too much would overpower the delicate squash flavor - !!) sprinkling of cheddar and blue cheese. WOW, it kicked it up a notch. I made this with Trader Joe's whole wheat pizza crust which made 2 9in pizzas, and in the last few minutes of baking, I slid them off the tray and baked it right on the oven rack to get it nice and crispy. I also added some julienned bresaola - a cured italian meat, like procuitto, except made from beef and not pork. It added a nice bit of salt to the savory, and went great with the blue cheese. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This has turned into one of my top go-to recipes! I made a few changes for ease - I just make one big pizza and then cut it into squares. I microwave the grated squash for 5 minutes before adding it to a saute pan with carmelized red onions (instead of white) and the rosemary. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
What a find! I used an oat bran pita bread instead of the pizza dough and pre-cooked/mashed squash in place of the sliced squash. Once they came out of the oven, we topped with more diced veggies. Excellent springboard for creative lunches!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
My husband and I loved it. I made it on whole wheat crust I made with my bread machine. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chanelle#5
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
wow - what a unique and tasty pizza! i used trader joe's cornmeal pizza dough and added a little garlic salt and a dash of cayenne to the squash prior to roasting. also, i topped the pizzas with the cheese during the last 10 minutes of baking. my husband dislikes squash and loved these! thanks! (the squash is a bit of a beast to cut before roasting...any suggestions?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chanelle#5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This is really good and a healthy alternative to traditional pizza. I used half the dough for the amount of toppings and increased the cheese, using a combination of asaigo and mozzerella. Yum, also good heated up for my lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
There is quite a bit of work involved here, but the end result is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angell S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pineville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States