Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was pretty good. It needed a bit more flavor (a little more parmesan did the trick). I ended up putting fresh mozzarella on ours so it looked more like a pizza and my kid would eat it. I actually preferred it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Yummy! The man didn't love it, but I sure did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This pizza was fantastic. The reviews were difficult to decipher because it seemed that everyone was reviewing a personalized version of the recipe and not the recipe itself. I made it exactly as it says and it was amazing. The key is to slice the butternut squash incredibly thin. Some people commented that the cooking time was not long enough, but when I looked at other people's uploaded photos, it is clear that they had made very thick slices...if made the way the recipe describes, this is a very delicious pizza. On a side note, I chose to go the Asiago route...very good...but next time I make it, I think I will use a little more than the recommended 2 tbsp...I am a cheese lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Not fantastic. Bleh...used pita-type thingies for the crust. Pureed the squash and added 2 Amaretti cookies (World Market) a little salt, and some half and half to give it sweetness and make it creamier. Not sure if I'd make again, maybe I'll try a homemade crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was good, but the squash took a lot longer to cook than I had anticipated. Also, I should have done what other reviewers said they did and carmelized the onions on the stovetop. They didn't turn out as well in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coffeygirl
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Did a light covering of pizza sauce on the dough before baking. Also did not use fresh rosemary as I have a lot of dried (I live in France). And used a LOT more than 2TBSP of cheese. This was the perfect recipe to use up that half of a butternut I had sitting in the fridge. Merci beaucoup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Good recipe, but I prefer my own pizza dough. It's so easy to make! 3 cups unbleached a/p flour, 1tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp yeast, 13 fl. oz. warm water. Mix in food processor until well blended and dough forms a ball. Let rise in a bowl covered with plastic wrap for 30 minutes. Kneed on a floured surface for a minute, then return to the bowl for a second rise until doubled in volume. Roll out into rounds or refrigerate for up to 2 or 3 days for later use. I usually substitute about half a cup of whole wheat flour for the same amount of the unbleached white flour for some added flavor, but this is optional. I harvested about 200 pounds of butternut from the garden this year, so this recipe will get lots of use with many variations along the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Really tasty! We skipped the onions and added goat cheese. Peeling the squash was a huge pain, next time we're going to cook it and put it on like a sauce, with green beans and chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Maybe we had too much pizza dough but my thought was that it needed more oil, more cheese and more squash..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This has so many stars because people have changed/added things to this recipe but still gave it 5 stars... its kind of misleading. I made this as is, except I used butter w/ garlic powder instead of oil (flavor preference), a home-made crust (jays signature pizza crust from this site) and I ended up using way more cheese... 2 tablespoons is not nearly enough for a recipe with the word "pizza" in its name! I steamed my squash in the microwave for 3 minutes before I put it on my dough, rather than roasting it & used the butter to make a 'sauce'. I layered everything on my unbaked dough, and baked it at 425 until my crust was golden and the squash and onions were cooked perfectly this way. This was kind of bland, but still good.... I wouldn't call it a pizza when made as the recipe says, its more like a flat bread... I love the idea of this though so I will make this again with changes... ill use 1/4 cup of butter with garlic and parsley for the sauce and ill add sliced mushrooms as well as mozzerella and some feta cheese with the asiago cheese. Ill also add some sugar and a pinch of salt to the cornmeal on the bottom of the pizza, I think the sugar will go nicely with the squash. I think this would also taste good with an alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States