Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This is a good basic recipe but when I made it I added a lot more to it. I'm a big fan of vegetarian pizza's so I added spinach, roasted red peppers, and sundried tomatoes and some fete cheese. Also, pizza dough is not always available so the second time I made it I used Greek style pitas without the pockets and cooked it for less time. But they are not always an option, so you could also use prebaked pizza doughs as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Thought this recipe was fantastic! Following other users' suggestions, I added thinly sliced zucchini and cherry tomatoes plus a dash of balsamic vinegar to the roasted vegetables; and I used goat cheese instead of parmesan. WOW! What a flavor combination. Something about the sweetness of the roast vegetables with the salty of the pizza crust with the gooey cheesiness of the goat cheese. A definite keeper! Oh, and the 4 minute boil of the butternut squash worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunland, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was ok. I didn't feel that there was a lot of flavor do the topping, but it wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I made this last night and it turned out great. I had a hard time getting the squash peeled, so I ended up microwaving it for about 8 mins. Then let it cool and peeled it. I also used whole wheat pita bread instead of the dough. And I used left over seasoned olive oil (the sort used for dipping bread in) instead of plain. It added a wonderful flavor. I also added some shredded mozzarella. This is a great recipe to customize to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
SOOO good. I sometimes worry when things look to simple that they'll turn out bland but WOW, this was fantastic. We used red onion and it turned out GREAT. We also added some cooked chicken on top to add some protein. Didnt need it, but it was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was a very good recipe. I did follow some of the previous viewers suggestions and added garlic on the crust, balsamic vinegar and asparagus to the roasting vegetables, used feta cheese, and cooked the crust slightly before adding the vegetables. It was very good, but I should have added more vinegar, and I found that the vegetables did not stick to the crust. Next time I will cook the crust and vegetables together to see if they adhere better to each other. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Tastes good. I felt like it needed some acidity to it, so we poured balsamic vinegar on our plates and dipped it in it. That improved the flavor. I think I used too much squash though because it was a bit overpowering. I will probably make it again if I happen to have all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was amazing! Based on other reviews, I did make some changes. I carmelized the onions instead of roasting them with the squash and I put the parmesan cheese on the pizzas when cooking them. I used "Jay's Signature Pizza Crust" recipe for the dough. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
this was tasty. i used a red onion and an acorn squash. i also added garlic and feta cheese. i will make this again but i will use a butternut to get the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was awesome! I needed to cook something vegetarian-friendly for a dinner party and took a gamble on this. Even the meat-lovers of the group loved the contrast of the sweet squash and the onions. Will definitely keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States