Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
My family was skeptical when I started making this pizza but ended up loving it. I made my own crust using the Pizza Crust for the Bread Machine II recipe here on Allrecipes and divided the dough to make two small pizzas. I also added one clove of chopped garlic to the roasted squash, onions, and rosemary. I used goat cheese, mozzarella cheese, and parmesan cheese lightly on it. It was wonderful. I do think it would be good with a contrasting flavor like ham or chicken especially for those who like some meat on their pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I tried the recipe as written, and it was savory but bland. I think this recipe would do well with a strong flavored cheese. And I liked other people's suggestions--caramelizing the onions, for example, or adding chopped garlic. I will try this again, but it needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This is a unique and yummy way to use butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I was skeptical, but this was awesome! I did add a little bit of mozzarella on top, but followed the recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Absolutely amazing! I also added spinach and garlic and a little bit of brown sugar with the onions. loved it!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made homemade dough (and forgot to use the cornmeal), roasted the onions with balsamic vinegar, and sprinkled parmesan, goat cheese, and mozzarella cheese on top. The flavors were good; it didn't work well as a main dish for us. (Four adults.) After two small pieces I was wishing for regular pizza instead! I just couldn't eat a lot of it. However, I think it would work great as an appetizer. I almost threw the leftovers away, but in the end put it in the fridge. Ate a slice cold the next day, and it was still pretty good. Not good enough, though, because the remainder sat in the fridge a week till I dumped it. Not sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeasonsForSuccess.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chapman, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I've been making a lot of squash since it's in season right now, and feeling very thankful to allrecipes for so many interesting recipes. This was awesome bf and I really enjoyed- I omitted the salt to taste and just used pepper. Really tasty~ thanks! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
It was bland and the ingredients did not mix well. My wife and I both took a bite, looked at each other, grabbed the phone, and ordered some NY style from the local pizza shop. I don't recommend this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by silentturnip
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Alone, the butternut squash did not do it for me. But on the honey wholewheat pizza crust with caramelized onion, mozza and fresh parm, it was absolutely delicious! I was surprised that even the pickest of my family loved it! See my submitted picture of butternut squash to see the easiest way to cook the squash. Thanks for the fabulous recipe, I will be making this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentturnip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Wow! I forgot to rate this the first time I tried this. I made it for a dinner party and everyone loved it. I just made it again tonight from memory and still have that 'yummy in my tummy' feeling again! I especially love it because I have an allergy to the acid in normal tomato sauce and the squash is amazingly similar in texture but without the acid that bothers me. Also I used less oil, only about 1 T, and it was fine, though I think I used less squash too. I used a flat bread that was premade so I only needed to use my toaster oven for about 3 minutes. So delcious and easy. I will be making this more regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonny Buckley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States