Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was good, but the squash took a lot longer to cook than I had anticipated. Also, I should have done what other reviewers said they did and carmelized the onions on the stovetop. They didn't turn out as well in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coffeygirl
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Did a light covering of pizza sauce on the dough before baking. Also did not use fresh rosemary as I have a lot of dried (I live in France). And used a LOT more than 2TBSP of cheese. This was the perfect recipe to use up that half of a butternut I had sitting in the fridge. Merci beaucoup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Good recipe, but I prefer my own pizza dough. It's so easy to make! 3 cups unbleached a/p flour, 1tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp yeast, 13 fl. oz. warm water. Mix in food processor until well blended and dough forms a ball. Let rise in a bowl covered with plastic wrap for 30 minutes. Kneed on a floured surface for a minute, then return to the bowl for a second rise until doubled in volume. Roll out into rounds or refrigerate for up to 2 or 3 days for later use. I usually substitute about half a cup of whole wheat flour for the same amount of the unbleached white flour for some added flavor, but this is optional. I harvested about 200 pounds of butternut from the garden this year, so this recipe will get lots of use with many variations along the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Really tasty! We skipped the onions and added goat cheese. Peeling the squash was a huge pain, next time we're going to cook it and put it on like a sauce, with green beans and chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Maybe we had too much pizza dough but my thought was that it needed more oil, more cheese and more squash..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This has so many stars because people have changed/added things to this recipe but still gave it 5 stars... its kind of misleading. I made this as is, except I used butter w/ garlic powder instead of oil (flavor preference), a home-made crust (jays signature pizza crust from this site) and I ended up using way more cheese... 2 tablespoons is not nearly enough for a recipe with the word "pizza" in its name! I steamed my squash in the microwave for 3 minutes before I put it on my dough, rather than roasting it & used the butter to make a 'sauce'. I layered everything on my unbaked dough, and baked it at 425 until my crust was golden and the squash and onions were cooked perfectly this way. This was kind of bland, but still good.... I wouldn't call it a pizza when made as the recipe says, its more like a flat bread... I love the idea of this though so I will make this again with changes... ill use 1/4 cup of butter with garlic and parsley for the sauce and ill add sliced mushrooms as well as mozzerella and some feta cheese with the asiago cheese. Ill also add some sugar and a pinch of salt to the cornmeal on the bottom of the pizza, I think the sugar will go nicely with the squash. I think this would also taste good with an alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was great. I made my pizza dough out of a focaccia bread recipe found on this site. I didn't have rosemary so I used dried thyme instead, and added prosciutto along with the squash on top of the pizza. I also topped mine with some mozzarella as well as parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I have made this recipe twice and it was delicious on both occasions. I only gave it 4 stars though because I made a couple of changes. For the rosemary, 1 tsp was not enough so I used closer to 2 tbsp. For the cheese, I used at least a cup over 2 pizzas it made. 10 minutes was also not enough, it took 15.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I made a pizza based on this recipe as a starting point because I didn't have or couldn't get all the ingredients. And it was great to follow regardless! What I changed was yellow squash instead of butternut, basil pesto instead of rosemary, both asiago and parmesan cheeses, also I used ready pizza dough and threw in some everyday seasoning (both from trader joes), then also added some dried oregano and garlic powder. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bridget_bee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This pizza was light, but so tasty. I didn't use the cornmeal and I used the whole wheat pizza crust from Trader Joe's. I used Asiago cheese and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States