Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I have made this pizza a few times now. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly. It was delicious but I did think it could use a little bit more flavor. The second time, I followed somebody's recommendation of parboiling the butternut squash for a few minutes prior to peeling and slicing. That makes this SO much easier. Also, because I use rosemary in almost everything, I was out and had to improvise. I caramelized the onions in balsamic and sugar on the stove and just pan fried the squash a little bit to avoid having to cook it in the oven. To add a little bit more kick, I added some leftover gorgonzola butter to the crust. The results was very different from the original, but equally as delicious! This is very versatile and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I think I needed a lot more squash on mine. The crust turned out bigger than I expected, so it kind of felt like just eating crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Yum! This was delicious. I added a bit more rosemary than the recipe called for, but that was my only change. Be sure to wipe away excess cornmeal from the baking sheet before popping in the oven - I learned the hard way that the excess cornmeal will burn. Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This pizza was great! It was so full of flavor -- I'll be making it again. I made one big rectangular pizza on a sheet pan and added some chopped garlic into the mix. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I substituted the pizza dough and used a pita pocket for the crust which turned out great! Suggested if you are looking for a lighter option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was great but I tweaked it with a little motz and chicken one of then BEST pizzas ive ever done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wheatfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I made this once and thought it was too bland but immediately thought that crisp bacon on top would be good. So I tried that tonight with more cheese and some garlic sautéed in the bacon fat. Two thick slices of top quality bacon crumbled is the key to elevate this pizza to a do again meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This pizza was pretty good, but a little bland. Will make again but change the recipes to add a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I was trying to find something to do with my butternut squash that was NOT soup and this was a great alternative! I felt like such a foodie because of how sophisticated it tasted. I took the recommendations of several reviewers and roasted the onions and squash with balsamic vinegar, and used mozzarella cheese with a sprinkling of parmesan because I didn't have enough. I used fresh rosemary, and on one of the pizzas added sun dried tomatoes but that taste was overpowering, so I wont do that again. I only gave it 4 stars because it could have used some garlic, and on some bites it was a little bland. We found that a little Alfredo dipping sauce did the job. We'll definitely be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
OH. MY. GAWD. Can you say good??? I've made this twice in 2 weeks now! I ground some fennel seed with dried rosemary and sprinkled that over the squash & onions. I made just one large pizza, and on the crust I spread a light coating of Aldi's Balsamic Glaze...you could make your own (its a thickened balsamic basically) or you could use a decent balsamic vinegar. Then I put the squash mixture, added moz, shredded parm, and some crumbled feta. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States