Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This is really good and a healthy alternative to traditional pizza. I used half the dough for the amount of toppings and increased the cheese, using a combination of asaigo and mozzerella. Yum, also good heated up for my lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
My husband and I loved it. I made it on whole wheat crust I made with my bread machine. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chanelle#5
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
wow - what a unique and tasty pizza! i used trader joe's cornmeal pizza dough and added a little garlic salt and a dash of cayenne to the squash prior to roasting. also, i topped the pizzas with the cheese during the last 10 minutes of baking. my husband dislikes squash and loved these! thanks! (the squash is a bit of a beast to cut before roasting...any suggestions?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chanelle#5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I've had very similar to this before and it was great! The way I've had it also includes using regular pizza sauce, topping with the onions and squash as described and then putting dollops of goat cheese instead of the listed cheese(s) and then topping with some shredded mozzerella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This is very similar to a pizza I make quite often, the only changes being that when I roast the Butternut Squash (we call it pumpkin here in Australia) is that I also add a little balsamic vinegar to the roasting pan. This helps the onions and squash caramelise beautifully. I have also in the past roasted different vegetables to go on the pizza... things like new asparagus, cherry tomatoes, zucchini or eggplant. Further to that after the vegetables are roasted I add Proscuitto to the pizza, as well as some goats cheese or feta (depending on what I have on hand)and a little parmesan or pecorino along with some mozzarella. Serve with a simple green salad of baby spinach leaves with a balsamic vinegarette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Helman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frankston, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Excellent! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Pretty good! I used a homeade dough that I had preveiously frozen and whole wheat. We dipped it in a marinara sauce and made for a nice dinner. We also doubled the cheese. Will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Carnes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Delicious! I cheated a little and used a loaf of frozen bread dough for the crusts. The kids liked it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Wonderful and light. Went great with the Eggplant and Tomato bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holliday, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
In a word - Amazing. Loaded with flavor. I carmelized red onions with a little bit of balsamic and sugar instead of baking them, and put it on top of the roast squash. Instead of parm (which I will still try), I used a light (!! - too much would overpower the delicate squash flavor - !!) sprinkling of cheddar and blue cheese. WOW, it kicked it up a notch. I made this with Trader Joe's whole wheat pizza crust which made 2 9in pizzas, and in the last few minutes of baking, I slid them off the tray and baked it right on the oven rack to get it nice and crispy. I also added some julienned bresaola - a cured italian meat, like procuitto, except made from beef and not pork. It added a nice bit of salt to the savory, and went great with the blue cheese. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States