Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by prettylittleliar
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I made this in a super healthy way tonight and it was delicious! I had a bag of cubed butternut squash I needed to use up. I sliced up the cubes into thirds to get thinner pieces, arranged them evenly on a baking pan lined with wax paper, and brushed organic coconut oil over the squash. Instead of olive oil, I melted 1/2 tbs of Nutiva extra virgin coconut oil in a small pan (other oils become toxic when cooking to high heat- I only use olive oil when it's consumed without heating i.e. mixing with balsamic vinegar and pepper as a salad dressing, making bruschetta or tabouleh etc). I sprinkled italian seasoning, pepper, and a dash of sea salt, and baked in my convection toaster oven for 20 mins. On the stovetop, I caramelized a brown onion with balsamic vinegar and finely diced organic garlic clove. I used a Classico Crostini Pizza Crust which only has 30mg of sodium per 1/3 crust! I brushed the crust with a lil bit of melted coconut oil, layered butternut squash, caramelized onion and garlic, and lightly topped with Kraft 'with a touch of Philadelphia cream cheese' mozzarella cheese. It was good as is but I decided to add avocado, tomato, and dabbed a lil bit of Litehouse kefir yogurt probiotic blue cheese salad dressing and was AMAZING!!! I only add the avocado, tomato, and dressing on the individual slice as I'm ready to eat it. The kefir blue cheese dressing was really the key, it tastes like reg blue cheese dressing, you cant even tell it's a healthy version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
decent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
My husband and I love this recipe. I used the dough as the rectangle it comes in, but otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. I'll be making this one frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
A Delightful surprise for even my picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKfangler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This pizza is yummy. So much flavor in such a simple recipe. The vegetables are roasted just perfectly. We did not change anything from the original posted recipe, it was simply amazing as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Bell Wyckoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I thought it was pretty good. Although I took the advice of some others and used some balsamic vinegar while I was roasting the squash and onions. I think next time I'll try this with a little prosciutto or something similar for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I have made this pizza a few times now. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly. It was delicious but I did think it could use a little bit more flavor. The second time, I followed somebody's recommendation of parboiling the butternut squash for a few minutes prior to peeling and slicing. That makes this SO much easier. Also, because I use rosemary in almost everything, I was out and had to improvise. I caramelized the onions in balsamic and sugar on the stove and just pan fried the squash a little bit to avoid having to cook it in the oven. To add a little bit more kick, I added some leftover gorgonzola butter to the crust. The results was very different from the original, but equally as delicious! This is very versatile and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I think I needed a lot more squash on mine. The crust turned out bigger than I expected, so it kind of felt like just eating crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Yum! This was delicious. I added a bit more rosemary than the recipe called for, but that was my only change. Be sure to wipe away excess cornmeal from the baking sheet before popping in the oven - I learned the hard way that the excess cornmeal will burn. Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This pizza was great! It was so full of flavor -- I'll be making it again. I made one big rectangular pizza on a sheet pan and added some chopped garlic into the mix. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States