Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This is delicious! The only change I made was to caramelize the onions and put that on top of the squash when assembling. The flavors of the onions, the squash, the cheese, and rosemary all come together so beautifully! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Yum, I cooked the squash (used veggie peeler to thinly slice) and onion on the stovetop and added the balsamic as others did, in addition to the Asiago I added goat cheese, topped with the oil and more fresh ground black pepper, delish. Used the NY pizza dough recipe...very thin crust was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Photo by Lish
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was delicious! I really like the review that said to add some balsamic vinegar in the roasting process. It really added a wonderful flavor to the pizza. I used a premade pizza crust and added 1/4 cup of ricotta under the butternut squash. So much flavor and a feel good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Used exact seasonings/amnt of oil & tossed squash in ziplock bag. Threw in red bell peppers & zucchini-amazing! Spred veggies out on non-greased baking sheet, baked 13 mins. Rolled out Jillian's gluten,dairy,wheat free dough, spread la pizza sauce(3tbs), placed veggies on pizza then topped w parm & mozz. Also used tip about brushing olive oil on crust.Excellent tip! Baked 12 mins, until crust was golden brown & cheese melted. Was told it was best pizza people ever had. It really was too! We live mins frm NYC, so that's saying something :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Delicious! My absolute new favorite recipe! Everyone in my house loved it and it's become one of our favorites to make. I love using fresh squash and pre-baking it in the oven, then the whole house smells like fall. The precooked squash works great when you need to save some time. And it still is just as delicious. Yum yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I liked this recipe but, like most reviewers, I thought it was good but not great. I thought it had potential though, so I've been tinkering with it and I think I've figured out some simple additions that make it extra yummy! First off, I boil the squash for about 15 minutes so its soft. then I use a peeler to peel off slices of squash so they lay flat and overlap nicely on the pizza crust. If the squash is boiled long enough there's no need to cook it alone for additional time; just layer it onto your crust and put it all in the oven. Before you spread the squash onto the crust, mix it thoroughly with white truffle oil. This gives it way more pop than boring olive oil. I spread asiago, parmesan, and romano cheese over the top before putting it in the oven. Once out, I add roasted pine nuts and a balsamic reduction, for smokey sweetness. (tip: my favorite so far has been theoliveoilexperience.com's vanilla balsamic.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Only ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I have never made anything with Butternut Squash before but I was given one so I looked up different recipes and decided to try this. We like a sauce based pizza so I made a homemade sauce and skipped the extra olive oil at the end. I also added sweet red pepper to the squash and onions. I made a homemade crust and added garlic and herbs to it. For the cheese I used parmesan and mozzarella. I followed the roasting and baking times above and OMG it turned out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Delicious! I added a few ingredients that made it so good: After putting the squash mixture on the dough, I added the layer of onions, some garlic, fresh basil, and fresh baby spinach. Then I added the layer of cheese to trap it all in. Finally, I added around 10-15 cubes of delicious feta cheese. The saltiness of the feta was a nice balance to the sweetness of the squash. Oh and, I used home-made whole-wheat dough fused with oregano, dried basil and rosemary. For the crust, make to dribble some cheese onto it to make it ten times more delicious! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This is absolutely delicious, easy and different. Only recipe additions I made were adding some balsamic vinegar and garlic cloves when carmelizing then made one large pizza. Baked for 20 minutes. Oh, and added a bit of shredded mozzarella as well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States