Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I liked this recipe but, like most reviewers, I thought it was good but not great. I thought it had potential though, so I've been tinkering with it and I think I've figured out some simple additions that make it extra yummy! First off, I boil the squash for about 15 minutes so its soft. then I use a peeler to peel off slices of squash so they lay flat and overlap nicely on the pizza crust. If the squash is boiled long enough there's no need to cook it alone for additional time; just layer it onto your crust and put it all in the oven. Before you spread the squash onto the crust, mix it thoroughly with white truffle oil. This gives it way more pop than boring olive oil. I spread asiago, parmesan, and romano cheese over the top before putting it in the oven. Once out, I add roasted pine nuts and a balsamic reduction, for smokey sweetness. (tip: my favorite so far has been theoliveoilexperience.com's vanilla balsamic.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Only ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I have never made anything with Butternut Squash before but I was given one so I looked up different recipes and decided to try this. We like a sauce based pizza so I made a homemade sauce and skipped the extra olive oil at the end. I also added sweet red pepper to the squash and onions. I made a homemade crust and added garlic and herbs to it. For the cheese I used parmesan and mozzarella. I followed the roasting and baking times above and OMG it turned out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Delicious! I added a few ingredients that made it so good: After putting the squash mixture on the dough, I added the layer of onions, some garlic, fresh basil, and fresh baby spinach. Then I added the layer of cheese to trap it all in. Finally, I added around 10-15 cubes of delicious feta cheese. The saltiness of the feta was a nice balance to the sweetness of the squash. Oh and, I used home-made whole-wheat dough fused with oregano, dried basil and rosemary. For the crust, make to dribble some cheese onto it to make it ten times more delicious! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This is absolutely delicious, easy and different. Only recipe additions I made were adding some balsamic vinegar and garlic cloves when carmelizing then made one large pizza. Baked for 20 minutes. Oh, and added a bit of shredded mozzarella as well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Not bad. Need more pizza crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melyni27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Yummy! Made as is except no onion! Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Landon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Very good!! Needs more cheese :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This butternut squash and rosemary pizza wasn’t too fussy to prepare and was pretty decent. It has some interesting flavors but I probably would not recommend it if you are not a fan of butternut squash. The tang and saltiness of the asiago helped to contrast against the sweetness of the butternut squash. If you are a fan of sweet potato, I would definitely explore with this type of squash since they have similar flavors. I didn’t have the cornmeal to place in the pan, but greasing it works perfectly fine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States