Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I'm sorry, too mushy and not at all like fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
SOOOOO good!!! My household is not a huge fan of squash including me, I only like a tiny bit at thanksgiving but this was a great healthy way to get everyone eating it a bit more! I cut up into fry shapes & put in a zip lock bag with just enough olive oil to coat them (didn't want them to get soggy!) Then sprinkled cinnamon & nutmeg on them. I didn't measure anything just eyeballed it. Turned out great! My only complaint was that it was a tad bit soggy (not my complaint I still thought they were good but still could have been crispier!) Next time I think I will broil them close to the heat to get them to crisp up a bit....or bake them halfway then finish them off broiled! Either way great recipe!!! Nice alternative to sweet potato fries....its nice to switch it up a bit sometimes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
YUM! Cinnamon+nutmeg and another batch of garlic powder+salt in the oven now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Delicious! I coated the 'fries' in vegetable oil to help the salt, pepper and nutmeg stick and it was FABULOUS! My husband has been begging me to bake some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hesster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This did not turn out well. After reading all the reviews I thought they would take a long time to cook but after 15 minutes I smelled them burning and they were! I heated the pan first as some suggested but they were still soggie (the ones that weren't burnt). Won't try these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Piccioni-Hann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Magdalena, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
These are very tasty but with or without oil I could not get them to be crispy enough to be like fries. Still would make again even as is, but will keep trying to get them crispy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Made with acorn squash by accident and was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweeneml
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Very yummy. I shook them in a bag with olive oil like other reviewers suggested. I did put too much salt on them. I had a hard time getting them crispy, after they baked for almost an hour I gave up and turned the broiler on for a few minutes. We had them for breakfast. I'll try them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I really liked these. I peeled the squash easily with a potato peeler and then sliced it into sticks. I placed them on a baking stone, sprayed them with Pam, and salted them. I cooked them 20 minutes and then turned them over and cooked another 10. Not crispy (but I wasn't expecting crispy since they aren't fried), but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I did what others suggested, I added olive oil. I also added kosher salt, pepper and paprika. They ended up being delicious. Only problem is that they're kind of mushy and I had to cook them for way longer than 20 minutes... and when I decided enough was enough (some were beginning to burn), they were still not very firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States