Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I sliced them about the size of standard French fries, lightly coated with olive oil, some cinnamon and pepper. Baked 30 minutes, turning once. Salted when done cooking. The only thing holding me back from eating all of it myself is the amount. VERY filling, delicious and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I loved them! So good & had a sweet & salty combo. The only thing is they didnt get crispy.... they were more like a sauteed mess.. but still yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaarafangirl54

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
First, read all reviews! I coated my slices in a mixture of olive oil, garlic salt and parsley to taste. Cooked at recommended temp for 15 minutes on the second to highest rack (pan was coated with foil). The fries were cooked, but not crispy. I turned my broiler on low for another 15 minutes, thus avoiding the need to turn them over as the tin foil crisped the underside. HUGE winner with me and my 4 year old twins ate them up without question or ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I found the fries rather mushy and even used less olive oil than required. I also added cinnamon and nutmeg as recommended which spiced them up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I had some butternut squash and wanted to do something with them that wasn't too sweet. This was simple and delicious! My 2 year old and I couldn't get enough of them. My 4 year old tolerated them with ketchup and my husband said they were okay. I tossed in olive oil and sprinkled with just a little salt. I put foil on the baking sheet so clean up was a breeze. Personally, I like them better than real fries. Definitely something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Meh-mushy, but I could see how they would taste good with a different texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These were much better than sweet potato fries. I could eat this again. I only gave it a 3 star, because they were soft on the inside. I will try to make again, and try the idea of salting and then placing on towel to draw out the moisture, and see if that helps. Good way to get away from regular fries and eat more vegetables! I did add cajun seasoning, which made them taste like cajun steak fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pearl River, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeybee375

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These taste better to me than sweet potato fries. I bought a 1/2 squash already peeled and seeded, which makes this much quicker. Once cut up, I spread them on a baking sheet and added garlic powder, cumin and crushed red pepper. I baked at 425 for 40 minutes, flipping once. I overcooked them or possibly cut too thin. These are going to be my new go to when I want french fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Needed longer to cook and stayed soft, not crispy. Tasty but needed a little more seasoning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States