Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Love them!! If you like sweet potato fries, these are a great substitute. I cut them thinner with a crinkle cutter and spray with cooking oil. We use garlic salt after they are done cooking. They are not crispy but I find if you cut them thinner they aren't as mushy. FYI - if you are on Weight Watchers, these are no points if you use the cooking spray!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
My husband and I liked these, but our children did not. I cooked them for 30 min then turned off the oven and left them in there for a while longer, but they were always a little mushy, even when the edges were crispy. I think that's just the nature of the squash (vs. potato). But the flavor was very good. I did toss them with olive oil first so they wouldn't stick to the pan (although they still stuck a little). thanks for the simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Surprisingly tasty (when seasoned with olive oil, cinnamon, a pinch of nutmeg, and garlic salt), but very mushy. I even put the baking sheet in the oven while it was preheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
very good did broil at the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
easy to make. Healthy snack option. I would make again. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Took over an hour to make, although preparing the fries was quite easy. I think the process might be made a lot easier for a beginner like me if cooked directly in the oil like french fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Yum!! So good. I spaced mine out onto 2 sheets so they had room to brown- turned out great! 30 min. cooking time with a little olive oil and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
My 5 year old couldn't get enough of these... An excellent alternative to traditional french fries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I sliced them about the size of standard French fries, lightly coated with olive oil, some cinnamon and pepper. Baked 30 minutes, turning once. Salted when done cooking. The only thing holding me back from eating all of it myself is the amount. VERY filling, delicious and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I loved them! So good & had a sweet & salty combo. The only thing is they didnt get crispy.... they were more like a sauteed mess.. but still yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaarafangirl54

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwin, New York, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States