Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
5 stars with the addition of salt, olive oil, garlic powder, cayenne, cinnamon, and cloves. Spicy/salty/sweet/savory and they do get crunchy, but you have to be patient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Friedman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Didn't seem much like french fries...but it was an nice way to cook the squash...it was more like roasted squash then french fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixponies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Loved this recipe. I did sprinkle with olive oil, salt, pepper, nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger and curry powder. My kids and my husband loved them! They didn't get crispy but still were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was one of my favorite winter recipes. Before baking, I put all of my squash sticks into a gallon-sized plastic bag and drizzle olive oil, cinnamon and nutmeg, and shake/mix until all are coated evenly. These taste like dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmiEmi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
These sound yummy! After reading several reviews of them being mushy. I'm going to try baking them on the broil pan, that way they wont be sitting in the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I love these...tons of fries and minimal calories. Variations I've tried: Olive oil and Cajun seasoning. Olive oil and Garlic salt, Cinnamon and Sugar...Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newgolfer1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I didn't use olive oil, I used a fat free olive oil spray just so they wouldn't stick to pan but I think these are great all by themselves so the extra flavor from the olive oil masks the natural flavor. I think it tends to be a little on the mushy side and not be as crunchy when tossed in olive oil. But that's just me! These are amazing even without salt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Was nervous but these were great! Sliced fairly thick and turned out tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These are very good. Make sure you slice them very thin to get a nice crunch. Very good with burgers or just as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
The flavor was great, however the end result was very unlike a fry. No crispness or crunch. I tossed in olive oil and salt, then baked for 35 minutes total. Still not crispy like I wanted them to be. Would be a great component in another dish but not a stand-alone side for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States