Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
We enjoyed this side dish, however I will follow other people's advice to heat the cookie sheet before putting the squash fries into the oven. They were a bit "wet" but very tasty. I also added a bit of olive oil to the mixture. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Not the crispiest fries you'll eat, but a great way for kiddies to east their squash! Tossed with EVOO and Kosher salt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micki B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
My 2 year old inhaled these! I put them under the broiler for a few minutes at the end to crisp them up a bit. I think no matter what you do they'll always be a little soft but they're delish and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Good recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Wow on the deliciousness factor! I followed others' advice to toss in a 1 gallon bag with olive oil & kosher salt, but added allspice instead of ginger/cinnamon/etc. b/c those are allergens for us, and allspice is a great substitute. Mine went about 25 minutes total & turned out VERY mushy, so that removing them from the sheet meant I was practically turning them into mashed squash instead of fries. I'll have to work on lowering the amount of oil next time to avoid soaking them to this level of mush--but still YUM!! Just eat 'em with a fork...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I followed the advice of previous posts (olive oil/salt/cinnamon in a ziploc bag, pooling out access liquid during baking, leaving the sheet in the oven while it preheats), but I still ended up with soggy fries. Maybe too much olive oil? The flavors were awesome though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
really didn't like these at all. sorry to be such a downer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitjane1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coronado, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Very good and easy! I shook them up with a little olive oil, salt, and cinnamin. Added ground pepper when they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
VERY tasty! I dipped them in sour cream, which complemented the sweet flavor of the squash nicely. This is a really fun concept, and I think that I will try it with other types of squash too. Thanks for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sharp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peotone, Illinois, USA
Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States