Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
So easy and so delicious! Edit - Did get a little mushy after the first day will have to try reheating in the oven vs. micro next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee Lei

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These fries are totally awesome even without the salt. Sprinkle with white or brown sugar also for a grand taste but my favorite is just with a touch or salt. We could not get enough of these!!! They are as awesome as sweet potato fries. I deep fried ours in veggie oil. We love these so much I am going to fry up a bunch and take them to my mom and sisters house for them to try. This is going down in our family traditional foods!!! Thanks soooooooooooooooooooo much!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
These were fantastic. Did them with sea salt and paprika. I couldn't stop eating them and I don't usually like squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These were TERRIFIC as written...I tried adding spices other reviewers added, and they were also tasty that way...but they are truly good without olive oil, and with salt only...I used a potato peeler to remove the outer skin before slicing into fries...worked great! Thanks for this healthy way to enjoy fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Tried the recipe just as it is offered and it was very good. My first thoughts were to alter it exactly like the others did with olive oil but I resisted. JUST USE THE RECIPE LIKE ITS OFFERED....the oil makes them mushy and extracts the moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
We enjoyed this side dish, however I will follow other people's advice to heat the cookie sheet before putting the squash fries into the oven. They were a bit "wet" but very tasty. I also added a bit of olive oil to the mixture. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Not the crispiest fries you'll eat, but a great way for kiddies to east their squash! Tossed with EVOO and Kosher salt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micki B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
My 2 year old inhaled these! I put them under the broiler for a few minutes at the end to crisp them up a bit. I think no matter what you do they'll always be a little soft but they're delish and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYDLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Good recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Wow on the deliciousness factor! I followed others' advice to toss in a 1 gallon bag with olive oil & kosher salt, but added allspice instead of ginger/cinnamon/etc. b/c those are allergens for us, and allspice is a great substitute. Mine went about 25 minutes total & turned out VERY mushy, so that removing them from the sheet meant I was practically turning them into mashed squash instead of fries. I'll have to work on lowering the amount of oil next time to avoid soaking them to this level of mush--but still YUM!! Just eat 'em with a fork...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States